Carrot Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
THIS RECIPE WAS JUST OK FOR ME,NOT BAD IT TASTED LIKE A BOXED CAKE I DID ADD SOME GRATED CARROTS AND A HANDFUL OF RAISINS.IT BAKED UP FINE BUT VERY CRUMBLY NEXT TIME I WONT BE LAZY AND TRY USING A SHORT CUT ILL JUST BAKE THE CAKE FROM SCRATCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Followed recipe and added 1/2 of coconut. Excellent with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Cooked in 13x9 glass baking dish. Though the flavor was decent, it turned out kind of crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was excellent! I even used an old mix. I substituted applesauce for all of the oil and lightly frosted with vanilla whipped icing and sprinkled with raisins because I didn't know if my guests liked them. It was a hit! Next time I will add the raisins to the mix. And there definitely will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
YUMM, YUMMY, YUMMY! I used this recipe to make cupcakes and it yelded 2 dozen. The only changes I made was to add one grated carrot and only use half the 8oz can of crushed pineappple with all of the juice. I used the Betty Croker cake mix and it came super moist. The batter doesn't rise that much, so it is ok to fill the cups nearly to the top. Baking time may vary, but I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Carrot Cake IV Haiku: "Four Stars for Cake IV! I used carrot baby food, with yellow box cake." I had a lonely box of yellow cake mix in the pantry, so I followed this recipe, but added 3 small jars of carrot baby food, as well as a small shake of cinnamon. Topped with a glossy cream cheese frosting recipe from here, and dotted with golden raisins, this turned out to be a terrific Easter dessert, w/ minimal effort. (I think the carrot baby food added an especially moist touch. I also did it in a bundt pan for about 50 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Carrot cake is my boyfriends favorite cake and I made this one for his birthday ... everyone at the birthday party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NafKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Fisher
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very good. Made as described except added a handful of freshly grated carrot and 1/4 cup of raisins. Good flavor. It didn't rise as much as I expected but the cake mix had been sitting around for a LONG while so that could have been a factor. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
OK- I made a combination of everyone else's ideas. First, I took a box of carrot cake mix (61¢ in the clearance bin), added a package of low fat pudding with splenda, 4 eggs,1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 C of pineapple juice and 4 "rings" of pineapple chopped up. I mixed it all up and made cupcakes. I wouldn't call it carrot cake but my husband will be happy to find them in his lunch and they are low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I had never made carrot cake before, so was looking for a highly rated, simple recipe that started with a mix. This was very easy and was also good. I added about 3/4 cup of shredded carrots and a tad more cinnamon to the batter, and pureed the pineapple in my Magic Bullet blender since I only had chunked on hand. I added an extra egg (using 4 in total) since some reviewers mentioned the cake not rising well. My cake turned out fluffy and moist, and pretty tasty. I think next time I will add more carrots, some raisins and even more nuts (as I love them), and will only use 3 eggs as written (even though I'm happy with the texture this time). I topped it with canned cream cheese frosting, but used a VERY thin layer as it was rich enough without it. Great recipe, thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States