Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
The cake was really easy to make and had great flavor. I did add a generous cup of golden raisins per my husband's request. I made in two 9inch pans as well. My only complaint was the center of the cake sank in. I made this twice and it did the same thing on both cakes. Visually annoying when you serve. I did also use one cup less of sugar for frosting and was plenty sweet. Will continue to make per my husbands request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I have never made a carrot cake from scratch. My sister who is home from college has asked me to make her one, so here I am. This looks like a great recipe so I will give it a try... without all the changes that others are making. Well all wish me luck!!!!! I will come back and let you know how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamond New

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I followed the recipe almost exactly as described (Used walnuts rather then pecans), I haven't made the frosting yet, the cake has a good flavor but a strange after taste, I think it might be the baking powder. When I make carrot cake again I am definitely going to find a recipe that doesn't use baking powder, or just omit it all together, because that after taste is just too strange for me. Hopefully the taste of the frosting masks it. I used 2 round 9" pans and it flowed over, and got all over the oven, It also sank in the middle, I think it was too dense, I might cut back on the oil next time. Also do not attempt to take the cake out of the pan after only 10 min it will crumble, wait 20-30 min. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Made it as directed, but left out the pecans! I felt like I tasted a lot of egg-like a scrambled egg flavor. It may need more spice but I still like it as it is. Perfect directions. My cake got hard or carmelized edge. I hope it softens up after the icing is applied. I only used 3 cups of confect. sugar, by accident. It was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Simple to make. Absolutely delicious. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Why are people complaining about changing the recipe. When you cook or bake it should be fun and guilt-free. Not worrying about this ingredient or that ingredient. We make and use what works for us. We all don't like the same thing. Stop being Debbie Downers and Negative Nancies. Just enjoy the cake smh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BiancaK Slam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I have made this cake 3 times now, and I love it! So does everyone else who has tried it. I make it for my dad's birthday, and he prefers walnuts, so I use walnuts instead of pecans and it comes out great. I saw another reviewer said they used this recipe specifically because it didn't have pineapple in it, and that's actually why I chose it also. I did find that even though I make a double batch of the cake, I only need a single batch of the icing for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This carrot cake is so delicious. I didn't realize I had never reviewed it. I just made it again and it sure doesn't last long. I do cut back a little on the sugar and oil and use white whole wheat flour. This recipe is a real keeper. Thanks Tammy Elliott for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
wow it was amazing! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I have made this two times and they both turned out great. Great recipe. The cake is really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linh Tang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 4,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States