Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great carrot cake! Did not use nuts due to allergies. Used 1/2 white and brown sugar, substituted applesauce for 1/2 cup of oil, added extra 1 tsp of vanilla and cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 8oz of crushed pineapple (drained). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe several times because once someone tries it, they want me to make it again. No substitutions are needed. I have tried it with 1 c white and 1 cup brown sugar and it's great that way too. Adding fresh grated nutmeg gives it another great flavor boost. I've packed in extra carrots and extra pecans and last time I ran out of vegetable oil and used about 1/3 c canola to supplement. Still great! It is a lot of oil, but not too much and the oil crisps up the edges of the cake. The only thing I do differently is the frosting. It falls in the center when you move it before it's done! Let it cook! If it does fall, give the center to the frosting lovers. I don't like cream cheese frosting at all, so I use the recipe with a package of vanilla pudding whisked into 1 cup of milk, with an 8 oz tub of cool whip and a tsp 1 tsp of vanilla mixed in at the end. That's my preference though and in no reflects the yumminess of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Easy cake.. Followed recipe as is.. Skipped pecans though.. Used pulp from juicer after making some carrot apple juice.. Only used about 3 cups of powdered sugar for frosting and it turned out nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have made this cake two years in a row for my boyfriend's birthday and he really does enjoy it. I also like it and carrot cake is not my first choice. The only reason I am not giving it a 5 is because he told me this year that it could use a little more carrot; so next time I make it I will just add 4 cups instead of 3 cups. The frosting is delicious as well and it comes out very moist and tasty. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This recipe was simply divine! I made some adjustment as one of the reviewer suggested. Added crushed pineapple, some nutmeg, an extra tsp of V extract, and cinnamon. I also substituted one cup of white sugar with brown sugar. I like golden raisins so I added about 1/4 cup. This paired with cream cheese frosting was so good. Even my little ones gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Elvira Cartledge
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It's one of the best cakes I've ever made. I followed some reviews and doubled the spices and added raisins. And I put only 2 cups of sugar in the icing. My husband absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Cartledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Tastes so good... My friend and his fiance loved it it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It is great as written! I made no changes to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The recipe is easy to follow and has a delicious taste to it when done. This is the second time my daughters and I have made it and we love it. It's great to bring to different holidays or special events. This is a great site for different recipes starting from scratch. But in my opinion, I think it is very rude of people changing the recipe, complaining about the original recipe, then giving it 5 stars for a rating. They're probably rating their own, not the original. As I said before, this is my second time making it, and I don't get "carrot juice" or it's not "too sweet" as other people are complaining about. But anyways! I think the recipe is perfect and it doesn't need any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The original recipe was amazing. I made a few tweaks for personal preference, but I absolutely adore this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 4,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States