Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was the first time I've made carrot cake. I made the recipe as written and took it to Thanksgiving at my in-laws. It was a hit! Very moist and the frosting wasn't too sweet. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobbi Lynch Reagan
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I chose this recipe because it was as close to the one that I have been making for over 30 year. I lost all my recipes in when I moved from Georgia to Florida:-) I did make a few adjustment mainly to make it healthier! Lol I used whole wheat flour, used coconut oil and replaced a 1 tbs of the oil with 3 tbs of ground flax seeds. It didn't change the taste at all and almost all of the cake was eat at the dinner party I took it to. Next Time I make it I think I'm going to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups because it is so sweet. The cream chease icing I've been making it for so long. If you let your butter and cream cheese soften or microwave for about a minute it is much easer to mix. I sift and beat the whole box of C. Sugar into the mixture then add vanilla last. I also sift the flour in the cake mixture after I measure it first. This is an awesome cake as is:-) my family demolished it in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Lynch Reagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki Coulston Tovar
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
For my first Carrot Cake I have made, it's great, one of the best carrot cakes I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Sugar: Use 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. ADD 1 cup raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great carrot cake! Did not use nuts due to allergies. Used 1/2 white and brown sugar, substituted applesauce for 1/2 cup of oil, added extra 1 tsp of vanilla and cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 8oz of crushed pineapple (drained). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe several times because once someone tries it, they want me to make it again. No substitutions are needed. I have tried it with 1 c white and 1 cup brown sugar and it's great that way too. Adding fresh grated nutmeg gives it another great flavor boost. I've packed in extra carrots and extra pecans and last time I ran out of vegetable oil and used about 1/3 c canola to supplement. Still great! It is a lot of oil, but not too much and the oil crisps up the edges of the cake. The only thing I do differently is the frosting. It falls in the center when you move it before it's done! Let it cook! If it does fall, give the center to the frosting lovers. I don't like cream cheese frosting at all, so I use the recipe with a package of vanilla pudding whisked into 1 cup of milk, with an 8 oz tub of cool whip and a tsp 1 tsp of vanilla mixed in at the end. That's my preference though and in no reflects the yumminess of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Easy cake.. Followed recipe as is.. Skipped pecans though.. Used pulp from juicer after making some carrot apple juice.. Only used about 3 cups of powdered sugar for frosting and it turned out nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have made this cake two years in a row for my boyfriend's birthday and he really does enjoy it. I also like it and carrot cake is not my first choice. The only reason I am not giving it a 5 is because he told me this year that it could use a little more carrot; so next time I make it I will just add 4 cups instead of 3 cups. The frosting is delicious as well and it comes out very moist and tasty. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This recipe was simply divine! I made some adjustment as one of the reviewer suggested. Added crushed pineapple, some nutmeg, an extra tsp of V extract, and cinnamon. I also substituted one cup of white sugar with brown sugar. I like golden raisins so I added about 1/4 cup. This paired with cream cheese frosting was so good. Even my little ones gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Elvira Cartledge
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It's one of the best cakes I've ever made. I followed some reviews and doubled the spices and added raisins. And I put only 2 cups of sugar in the icing. My husband absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Cartledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 4,405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States