Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I do not recommend this recipe at all. I did NOT alter the recipe at all. I made it exactly as written. I am not a beginner baker and have been baking over a decade. First of all, it comes out of the oven pretty unappealing: very oily/greasy looking. The edges of the cake were more bubbly and the centre of the cake fell after while in the oven. My oven temperature is accurate, and all my ingredients are fresh, so I'm not sure why it happened. Not only that, it tasted like baking soda (my measurements were accurate), and weirdly also tasted like egg. I know that I mixed my ingredients very well prior so there's explanation for the egg flavour. The icing was delicious though I did use one less cup of icing sugar, but that's minor. Oh and, don't even think about trying to take it out of the pan after cooling only 10 minutes... what a nightmare. Even if you grease and flour the pan like I did, it still broke apart and made a huge crumbly mess. I'm made dozens of cakes over the years and never had issues flipping a cake out of a pan like this. I think there's issues with the amount of oil used in this recipe, some others have used applesauce and I think that's a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
love this recipe. Also added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and substituted 1 cup of brown sugar for white sugar. Other than that, followed the recipe verbatim. Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anisa Rahim
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tararochoa
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
FANtastic! My husband and I were so pleased with how this cake turned out. I did add a little extra vanilla and cinnamon, about 1/2 tsp more of each, and used 1/3 the fat cream cheese for the icing. The icing was about twice as much as the cake needed in my opinion so I did not use the entire amount. Bottom line I will absolutely be making this again in the future with the same tweaks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Never made carrot cake before and of the three items i made of this site today,this cake turned out the best and i didn't change a thing..cream cheese frosting was spot on..my son is allergic to nuts so i didn't put any in and its a good thing cause he loved it.!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ebbz Rozéfort
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is my husband's favorite cake but we always purchased one from a bakery. So I was very intimidated trying this not only for him but for Christmas day with his family! The instructions were to the point and very easy to follow but most importantly it was an absolute HIT!! Everyone loved it especially my better half! I'd recommend this recipe to any and everyone! Sn: The middle took a little longer to cook than expected. I lowered the heat to about 250 degrees to let the inside cook without the top getting over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebbz Rozéfort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was fantastic! I adore carrot cake, but had never tried making one myself. This one turned out excellent. A friend had told me the trick to a good carrot cake is to use a full pound of carrots, so I did that and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
It's awesome the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calistoga, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Ah-MAY-zing! This is the first cake I have successfully made from scratch! I, like many people, read lots of reviews, and I did make a few tiny adjustments (more vanilla, more cinnamon, a hint of nutmeg, and half brown sugar), but I made no major changes to the recipe. I even used the amount of oil called for....and it was perfect. Moist, spicy, flavorful, and the frosting was fabulous! I used the exact amounts called for and whipped the fool out of it in the stand mixer. I have avoided cake making for a long time, because I had never been able to make a good one from scratch....that is, until today. Thank you so much for the recipe and the confidence. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by lucianna
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Amazing and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The frosting was way too sweet and had a gritty texture despite how well it was mixed. Cake was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 4,408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States