Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The original recipe was amazing. I made a few tweaks for personal preference, but I absolutely adore this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XioMARA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My first time ever baking a carrot cake & the SIMPLE recipe gave me all the confidence I needed; besides my neighbor Susan, mentor for baking. I will definitely bake again using this same recipe. SIMPLE RECIPE=SIMPLY DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
It tastes like an overly sweet cinnamon bread. Not enough cinnamon at that. All the substitutions are necessary to make this cake even slightly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Great recipe made it for a family members birthday & it was loved even by a picky 3 yr old. I also use 3 cups confectioners' sugar & instead of all white sugar, used 1 cup dark & one white for a light brown sugar taste.I mix very fine grated nuts in the icing.I also made cupcakes & not one was left within 10 mins of putting them out at an event.Thank you for this good & simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have tried much better carrot cakes. This one... without any change on the recipe was very oily and the center of the cake sank. The flavour... ok... but still I think it could have been much better. Probably won't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
The first time I made this, I had everything gathered, when I realized I only had about a 1/3 cup of oil. I substituted the remainder with pumpkin pie mix, & it was excellent! Now I make it like this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed recipe to a T. All fresh ingredients, preheated my oven for 30 mins and still the sides raised too much and middle fell super flat. I did let it cool and tasted before making frosting and it's AWEFUL. Has a taste of too much baking powder. I noticed all the bad reviews are from people who followed the recipe exactly. Next time I find a recipe I will start by reading the bad reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I've tried this recipe at least four times. Although it has turned out yummy and moist each time, I've still had to deal with the sinking in the center. This past week, when I made it for my birthday, I made a few changes that have resulted in an equally yummy cake without the sinking center. I replaced the 1-1/4 cups canola oil with 1 cup of grape seed oil (more healthy) and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I also added 1/2 cup of finely chopped fresh pineapple. In terms of the grated carrot, I used a cheese grater on the largest setting. After grating the carrots, I then mince them further with a large knife. This really minimized the wetness of the grated carrots. The overall texture of the cake was a lot lighter than before. I'm very happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imangel
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made this for the first time this evening. I'm glad I tried it before I frosted it. It was not that good. It needs some tweaking for sure. Will not use this recipe again, but will adapt it or go with a completely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I've ever made,only made few modifications: decreased sugar amount to one cup and It is still sweet to my taste, I also skipped pecans because we don't have it in our country. Mine came out great, I highly recommend everyone to try it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States