Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Yum, yum,yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is a great Carrot cake! Only thing I did different was I made more (1 1/2 times everything) so I could make 3 layers. I used 1/2white sugar 1/2 brown sugar, golden raisins and walnuts. It came out great! I also made this yummy frosting. Not too sweet. I also crush the walnuts for the outside of the cake. It looked very pretty and was very moist. I have made this recipe3 or 4 times now and have't changed much besides the sugar. . Everyone tells me it's the best Carrot cake ever. Keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best carrot cake ever! I have always been able to take or leave carrot cake - but this one leaves me craving it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner - so be warned - it's addictive! Husband who is usually a man of few words -ha- raved about it as did co-workers who got a piece. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anwalker89
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This cakes was amazing. It baked up really nicely and tasted amazing.. I did substitute 1 cup of applesauce in place of the oil for extra moistness (which worked!!) and I added raisins.. Will be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I followed some of the other reviews changes and OMG this cake is amazing.my first time every making a carrot cake and I will be making it again very soon.the changes I use.1/2c apple sauce,1/2c oil. I added a can of crushed pineapple very well drained .for the frosting I use almond extract over vanilla I also did not add the pecans to my frosting.once I frosted the first layer of cake I sprinkled a layer of pecans down.and then placed the second layer ontop and frosted everything and added pecans to the top of the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Just what I have been searching for! I used to be known for my yummy scratch carrot cake. After a move and retyping my beat up recipe cards, I knew something was missing. Now I see what I've been missing!! Thanks. This cake gave me a very nice crisp edge, which makes dividing into 4 layers and over icing only the centers, perfect. When I try this recipe again, i will try the suggested substitution of part of the white for brown sugar. HINT - in case you have a husband who cannot tolerate nuts - I chopped the pecans, dropped the mix into half of the pans, then added pecans to the second half of the batter and dropped that into the other side. It baked perfectly and I stacked the layers matching up the nut side. A bit tricky, but my husbands diverticulitis thanks me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilyofcbng
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
excellent recipe, easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is one of the best carrot cakes I've ever tasted. My family loves it and I bake it for most family get-togethers. There are several reviews that suggest substitutions for oil and other content. However, this is a traditional carrot cake with a recipe similar to those found in some of the best restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as it is stated- YUM! It was for a birthday and it turned out just lovely. I like to make birthday cakes from scratch to add to the occasion. I did not use a 9x13 pan though. I used 2 9" round pans & I think I should have made 3 pans, as it almost baked over! I used the icing and made a layer between the two cakes as well as all over the entire stack. I used fresh carrots from a local farmers market. If you like carrot cake- this one is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
i followed this recipe as written, but omitted the pecans. used my food processor to grate the carrots. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States