Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
i use half white half brown sugar but cut it to 1 1/2 cups.i use i cup ap flour and one cup spelt flour. walnuts instead of pecans 3/4 cups vegetable oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce.this time i am adding 1/2 cup of chopped dates .i'll let you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Buckley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This may have been the best cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This is a really good recipe, but it is even better with a the changes that others have recommended. The original recipe is delicious but it is more moist you substitute the white sugar for 1 c white and 1 c brown and use 1/2 c applesauce and 3/4 c vegetable oil. I also caramelize pecans with butter and brown sugar to top the cake. It is gorgeous and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This recipe is VERY good. I didn't make any changes because none are necessary. Every recipe I see on this website, people in the reviews are always saying "I changed this, that, etc."...I never understand why, unless it's obvious that the regular recipe is lacking something, which this isn't. The final product is amazing. I did leave the pecans out, though, because I only like nuts by themselves, having them inside other foods ruins the texture for me. But anyway, this recipe is definitely a keeper. No changes necessary! PS: If you have a food processor, put your carrots in there instead of using a grater, it's much quicker. I used a grater at first and it took ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
was really easy to make , baked in 3 loaf tins , rose very nicely . Didnt have any cream cheese so I iced with icing sugar & water glaze . My grandkids loved it . Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Hillel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
The best carrot cake ever! Tried it at a friend's home and my kids loved it. Baked it myself and turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Cale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Great recipe. However, I used white spelt flour, l cup grape seed oil because that's all I had, and less processed cane sugar. The sugar had a sugar cane smell to it, so I was concerned about the flavor, but it turned out perfect. I also only used 2 cups of grated carrots and that was 4 carrots. I've been making carrot cake for many years but hadn't made one within the past year. The only drawback is that I think I'll eat too much of it because it's delicious. One more note, to shred my carrots I use the grater disk with my food processor and then I place the S blade in the container and process them again no more than one minute until they're just well grated but not mushy. This works well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I just made this for my family - what a hit! This recipe made me look like a carrot cake hero! I pretty much did everything exactly, except I did add an extra tsp. of cinnamon (so 3 tsps.) and for the frosting I only put in 3 cups of powdered sugar instead of 4, and I still thought it was very sweet - this recipe is going in my saved "golden" recipes for sure. There's a reason why this cake is so popular - trust me - you can't lose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
The cake was really easy to make and had great flavor. I did add a generous cup of golden raisins per my husband's request. I made in two 9inch pans as well. My only complaint was the center of the cake sank in. I made this twice and it did the same thing on both cakes. Visually annoying when you serve. I did also use one cup less of sugar for frosting and was plenty sweet. Will continue to make per my husbands request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I have never made a carrot cake from scratch. My sister who is home from college has asked me to make her one, so here I am. This looks like a great recipe so I will give it a try... without all the changes that others are making. Well all wish me luck!!!!! I will come back and let you know how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamond New

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States