Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
My family and friends loved this recipe so I'll definitely make this again. Followed one reviewer's consolidated suggestion of using 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar, additional pineapple, 1 tsp cinnamon and vanilla. Also using only 3 cups of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Tried this recipe because it had such a high rating with lots of positive reviews. Was spectacularly disappointed. Although the smell was mouthwatering, the cake itself was not, unfortunately, as appealing. With every bite it felt as though I was having a piece of diabetes. The cake was waayy too sweet and greasy. After finishing a slice, I couldn't keep it down and threw up as it just left me feeling nauseous and heavy. Carrot cake that I'm used to is dense and moist, with a subtle sweetness. Instead, this cake's moistness comes from the immense amount of oil and sugar, which also helps create that nauseating sweetness I mentioned previously. Overall, I would definitely not make this again and would not recommend this recipe at all unless your taste buds prefer very, very sweet cakes. The smell is amazing, and the taste of the cake is not horrible, however my stomach couldn't handle the sugar and if you have a similar taste like me then you should search for another recipe, unless you can somehow modify the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Made exactly, well, I didn't have pecans. This is so fluffy it kinda bothered me! ??. Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I usually read reviews before following a recipe but after seeing the rating and number of reviews I dove in with both feet. I followed the recipe as is. added a little extra vanilla and cinnamon because I love the flavour and it was perfect. My family immediately called this their favourite carrot cake. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Wow. I made this for a group of friends and it was DEVOURED. I followed the suggestions in the "Most helpful positive review" as well as exchanging raisins for the pecans (just my preference) and it was the perfect carrot cake. I would have taken a picture, but it didn't last long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Made using gneebeanie compiled modifications and it came out great. I doubled the frosting because I made it as a layered cake, but that proved unnecessary... the called-for frosting is plenty. I also used walnuts rather than pecans. The frosting is amazingly light and not overpoweringly sweet. It's just a really good, subtle flavor. The cake is fantastically moist and, again, not too sweet (particularly considering the quantity of sugar). It's an overall amazing recipe. I plan to try it with fruits rather than carrots sometime to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This was delicous! I took others advice and added 20 oz can of crushed pinapple drained and I only had walnuts so I crushed those up and added them. Next time I will use pecans to see which is better. Instead of using 2 cups of white sugar I substituted one cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white. Great carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kerrync
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 as it is a good recipe, but simply tweaks could be made to improve it. For instance, the taste of cinnamon was too light, so I used 1 tbsp instead of 2 tsp. White sugar generally works fine, but to give the cake a richer flavour, I used 1-3/4 cup white sugar + 1 tbsp molasses (you could also sub 1 cup of white sugar with brown but I didn't have any brown sugar on hand). For those who prefer a less oily cake, the oil can be reduced to 1 cup without compromising on the moistness - my cake was still incredibly moist. In fact, it was still so moist that I had to let it cool in the pan or it would crumble if I wasn't careful in removing it. I made my own cream cheese frosting as the frosting recipe here looked insanely sweet! I used 1/2 cup butter, 1 block cream cheese, 2/3 cup confectioner's sugar and 1 tsp vanilla essence - it was wonderful! Frosting aside, it is not an amazing carrot cake, but with some tweaking to suit your individual tastes, it can easily be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrync

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Loved it, and I use the frosting all the time. I made it according to the recipe and can't think of anything I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I followed recipe exactly and thought it was the best carrot cake I've ever had. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States