Carrot Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This cake was absolutely YUMMY! The only modifications I used were that I used honey instead of sugar which made for a bit of a stickier cake, but so so good! Remember only half the amount of honey to what the recipe asks for for sugar. I also used 3/4 cup of applesauce and about 1 TBS of oil to make the texture less 'chewy' and used a honey cream cheese frosting on top (8 ounces of cream cheese, 1/3 cup of honey and 1T of vanilla).....DELISH! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is now my permanent carrot cake recipe.I love carrot cake but hardly ever made it because it was so high in fat with all that oil.Now I can "have my cake and eat it too";and not feel guilty.My dad absolutely loved it;he said it was even better than the Costco carrot cake.(which is amazing because in our house you can't get better than Costco carrot cake.(up until now that is)I will definately be making this again and again;My family asked for seconds and thirds and with a cream cheese icing and sprinkles it makes a great birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This is a great low fat recipe, and the cake is very moist. It is so healthy with the carrots and nuts, too. However, I wouldn't consider this cake a real dessert because it has a chewy, gummy texture, which is characteristic of recipes that substitute fat with applesauce. Next time I will substitute 2 tbsp of oil for the apple sauce. I think you need some fat in this recipe, and 2 tbsp is still low-fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I have tried this recipe twice, the first time I followed it to the letter… shared it with friends and they all enjoyed it. I found it to be to moist so the second round I added another ½ cup of flour and doubled up on all the spices. I found that my modification suites my taste buds better then the original receipt…. excellent ether way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
For all you Weight Watcher people, this is a keeper. I was amazed at how good this cake turned out. I only made half a cake to try it out before I made a full one to take to work for my WW co-workers. I can't wait to share it with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
My whole family liked the carrot cake. Based on other comments made I cut down on the pineapple juice and it came out fine. We added cream cheese frosting and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This cake was amazing. I made it in a glass baking dish and left it in about ten minutes longer than required--it was not soggy at all. It was perfectly moist and delicious. If you don't like it too sweet, I'd reduce the sugar a bit--my dad said it was almost too sweet for him. Used a cream cheese frosting--best carrot cake I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is an excellent carrot cake recipe!!!! I used about 3/4 cup of Splenda instead of sugar and omitted the walnuts and raisins. I served it with cool whip but it was just as good on its own. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I found this recipe very satisfying. It is just like its high fat/calorie counterparts. The taste is quite good. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
The applesauce and pineapple keep this cake really moist without the unhealthy addition of a ton of oil. Better after it's been refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States