Carrot Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Very good and moist cake. I split up the sugar between Splenda and regular sugar and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I liked the looks of this recipe due to the ingredients being healthier. I was somewhat skeptical after reading other reviews about it being chewy. Mine was not chewy, just VERY dense like a very moist pumpkin bread. It did not rise much. Don't get me wrong, it was still VERY good, it just was not light and fluffy by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
just what i was looking for. these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this into muffins with a dab of cream cheese frosting on the top and I thought it was delicious (yet chewy, but that's okay in a muffin). I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is a great carrot cake recipe, period. Next time I will use all whole wheat flour since half wasn't even noticeable. I served mine with light whipped cream since cream cheese frosting would be gilding the lily. It also makes a great breakfast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was pretty good for what it was. I did substitute the applesauce for 2T oil. Instead of 6 fresh egg whites, I approximated that with a carton of liquid egg whites. I cut the sugar by about 2T. Texture is a little sticky, but the cake did rise. It definitely needs frosting or ice cream or whip cream. I'd make it again, but it didn't blow me away. The carrot cakes I love are way more fattenting, probably b/c they have lots of oil, causing a flakier texture. Glad I tried this, and I would recommend it. Be sure you read some more reviews before embarking on your own so you know what to expect/what to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I understand now the "chewy" aspect that another wrote about. Next time I will take the suggestions of leaving out applesauce and using oil instead. I think this recipe could be a very good one with a bit more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This recipie is a great dessert. It turned out better than I expected with some minor substitutions. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and omitted the apple sauce ompletely and just used 2 tbsp. of oil. I also added more rasins than the recipie called for. Topped off with cream cheese frosting, this is a very moist (not chewy) and light treat. I will definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a very heavy, but delicious cake. I added cream cheese frosting made with Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Best ever except I used whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States