Carrot Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! I've also tried making an apple cake with it instead of carrot cake and that was delicious too. I didn't use pineapple juice or sugar but instead added in about 1/4 cup of honey and 1 1/4 cup of applesauce and 3/4 cup of skim milk to make up for the absence of the pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I accidentally forgot the pineapple. Whoops! That's okay, it was still delicious. I added some cream cheese frosting, and although I had to check my temperature after I came to this decision, I decided I didn't like it with the frosting! I ended up scraping it all off. I think next time I will make it less like a cake and more like a bar. Halve the recipe, leave the pineapple out again, use all whole wheat flour, leave out the sugar and sub a little stevia, and this would make a tasty breakfast fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It was like pineapple cake with some carrot in it- yuk. There is a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made this cake yesterday and gave it 3 stars because we felt it wasn't sweet enough and was very dense as a cake. Tasted more as a low fat carrot bread than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I am not usually negative about recipes, but this cake did not taste like carrot cake-more like pineapple and cinnamon. Family did NOT eat their small portions. I followed the recipe exactly and am in wonderment about the many glowing reviews. The cake did LOOK appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I did not like this carrot cake. It has too much cinnamon. I think you need to reduce it. It was soggy. I even tried to cook it longer, but it was still soggy. Maybe next time I will reduce the liquid. I think you need to drain the liquid from the pineapple can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chatty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Needed to be cooked sooo much longer. Was mushy in the middle. Think I would stick with my regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taag4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
this is SO tasty and (dare i say), healthier than your average Carrot Cake! I made it for an alternative dessert at a family Easter gathering and it was gone before any of the other desserts! I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is the BEST! I did not have the white flour, so only wheat flour was used. I did not use the cloves either. It was just sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
moist, good flavor, AND healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States