Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
So moist!!! I made this for my husband and daughter's birthday. Everyone at the party said how moist and yummy it was. The only change to the recipe is that I didn't use raisins and I made a different cream cheese with pineapple frosting. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I don't know why it said to use a bundt pan, especially since the picture shows a round cake pan...so I used a 8x8 glass pan, and it took FOREVER for this to finish. When it was FINALLY cooked through, the outside had a very burnt look and feel, almost carmelized. I had to reduce the heat of the oven for the last 1/2 hour or so just to get it cooked through without completely ruining it. I think it should be specified how long to cook it in 2 round cake pans, not a bundt. The flavor itself of the cake wasn't that great either, even after I cut off the burnt edges. I also thought that it had a bit too much carrot in it? Also, I used my own frosing- 16 oz. cream cheese softened, 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar, and 1 tsp. vanilla. The frosting was the best part! I used the leftover frosting on some yellow cake cupcakes I made the next day. I wouldn't make this one again. I'll keep searching for "the perfect carrot cake" recipe. My search does NOT end here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
When I made this and tasted it I thought, "Did I make this?" It was quite impressive. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Why did it say to use a Bundt? I thoroughly greased my bundt with butter and the cake completely stuck. It also looked terrible...has a carmelized/burnt look to it. It tastes good; but not wonderful. I was so dissapointed with its poor apperance. I used "Cream Cheese Frosting II" and the frosting is great. I am still looking for a great carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! I baked it in a 9x13 pan and made my own cream cheese frosting, and my family and friends raved at Thanksgiving! The only change I made was 1 c white/1 c brown sugar, and it came out great...will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceewee1024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I reviewed several recipes and choose this one. I made it for my new bride who loves carrot cake. The cake was INCREDIBLE. She says it is the best carrot cake she has ever had. The flavor was so wonderful and the cake was extremely moist. I think the cake gets better with sitting and allowing the raisins and spices to ferment into the cake... for several hours prior to serving. I recommend adding a bit more nutmeg then called for and I also added 1 teaspoon of genuine mexican vanilla to the batter as well. Mmmmmmm Enjoy this recipe. This cake will make many new friends for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Everyone raves about this carrot cake when I make it. Such a great recipe. You dont need to use that much oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great recipe. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very good taste and texture, this cake was so delicious. . .I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mylittlesprouts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
i thought this cake was absoluteley delicious, it was neither too rich nor too bland. My entire family loved it, including my dad who took multiple helpings. I highly recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States