Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I was searching for that perfect carrot cake recipe, and I seem to have found it! I chose this one after looking through the recipes on this site and the reviews. However, I did go along with some of the suggestions to reduce the amount of vegetable oil. I used 3/4 c. and the cake turned out moist with no oily taste. I also used 1 cup w. sugar and 1 cup brown sugar rather than all white. I opted for walnuts instead of raisins. It came out perfect in a 8X12 inch pan for 40 minutes in 350 degrees. I didn't try the glaze icing and went with the suggestions for the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I love cream cheese desserts and even though I used 95% fat free cream cheese it still tasted flavorful and rich. Awesome combination. Rave reviews came from all who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
this is very good can make one pumkin roll one apple butter pumpkin pie and whats left in the can i make this. it is very beautiful and i cadd all kids of stuff to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMZKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
very good, but very heavy. Not going to fit into my diet more than a couple times a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was the first time I've ever made carrot cake from scratch and it was delish. So moist!! I'm giving it a 4 star instead of 5 because I, like some other reviewers had a hard time getting the cake out of the bundt pan. One section of the cake got stuck in the pan and broke apart. I scraped as much off the pan and tried to put it on the cake. With the frosting you didn't even notice it but it was annoying that it got stuck...especially since I generously sprayed the pan with baking spray. But otherwise, it was a really good carrot cake and I will definitely make it again. Maybe next time I'll try a square pan instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I reduced oil to 1 cup and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. The cake turned out very good and moist. I will be making this again, it is now my favorite carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It's March break and the kids needed to fill some time! This was a delightful and easy recipe for them. I made them cut the oil back to 1C and it was still very moist! Flavour and texture were nice and we made it in a 9x13 without icing and it was half gone the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
So moist!!! I made this for my husband and daughter's birthday. Everyone at the party said how moist and yummy it was. The only change to the recipe is that I didn't use raisins and I made a different cream cheese with pineapple frosting. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I don't know why it said to use a bundt pan, especially since the picture shows a round cake pan...so I used a 8x8 glass pan, and it took FOREVER for this to finish. When it was FINALLY cooked through, the outside had a very burnt look and feel, almost carmelized. I had to reduce the heat of the oven for the last 1/2 hour or so just to get it cooked through without completely ruining it. I think it should be specified how long to cook it in 2 round cake pans, not a bundt. The flavor itself of the cake wasn't that great either, even after I cut off the burnt edges. I also thought that it had a bit too much carrot in it? Also, I used my own frosing- 16 oz. cream cheese softened, 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar, and 1 tsp. vanilla. The frosting was the best part! I used the leftover frosting on some yellow cake cupcakes I made the next day. I wouldn't make this one again. I'll keep searching for "the perfect carrot cake" recipe. My search does NOT end here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
When I made this and tasted it I thought, "Did I make this?" It was quite impressive. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Why did it say to use a Bundt? I thoroughly greased my bundt with butter and the cake completely stuck. It also looked terrible...has a carmelized/burnt look to it. It tastes good; but not wonderful. I was so dissapointed with its poor apperance. I used "Cream Cheese Frosting II" and the frosting is great. I am still looking for a great carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States