Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I could not get over at how DELICIOUS AND MOIST this cake was! Before making this cake, I only had eaten carrot cake. I could not believe I had actually made such an incredible cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this specially for my dad's birthday. It came out great, but broke into two big pieces while I was taking it out of the pan.. I used butter to keep the flour on the pan, and I'm not quite sure what went wrong. The frosting tasted great and, despite appearances, turned out to be enough for even a 10" bundt cake (more surface area than a normal cake). Used 3/4 cup vegetable oil as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
It is a little bit too greasy. For the rest is excelent! I reduced 1/4 cup of oil on the second try and it came out fluffier. I will try to reduce the oil more on the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Wow a keeper for sure. I used 1 cup of oil and 1 c brown sugar and 1 c white sugar, also I baked at 350 40 minutes in 9x13. I also used cream cheese frosting. Tip: I use a Kitchen Aid chopper (any chopper will do they sell some at Walmart mini choppers for $5 on black friday) I put my carrots in there and pulse until finely chopped, work as well as shredded and a lot easier. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I used 1/4 cup less oil and used store bought creamcheese icing, then coated the entire cake in walnuts. It tasted alright, but I had big problems with the batter overflowing the pans. You should see my oven! It is definately too much batter to put in just two round pans! Pretty good recipe overall, and some of my problems may have been cook error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very very good. I opted to use the allspice cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My guests all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This carrot cake is amazing! usually when i've made carrot cake in the past, it's too dry or too mushy.... so i split the carrots in half... half i grated raw and the other half i steamed first, then mushed. i followed everything else to the -T-! and it came out PERFECT. exquisite! i'll definitely make this again :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I liked the cake itself, but I felt that the frosting was too sweet. But, I generally like my desserts to be a nice combo of sweet and semi-sweet, so maybe that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Good starter - I substituted some yogurt for 1/4c of oil. Increased the cinnamon and nutmeg. Moist with goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I didn't do the frosting at all. Yes, I know it's tradition but I'm just not that much into frosting and using corn syrup just sounded sickeningly too sweet. I commonly leave frosting off any type of snack cake. This was OK but nothing exciting. I've had better carrot cakes. I also remembered why I never make it - grating carrots is one major hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States