Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Good recipe. Cake comes out moist and tasty. One caveat: the recipe says to leave the cake in the oven for 60-70 minutes. This is too long. I put my cake in a 10 inch bundt pan for 60 minutes at 350 degrees and the cake was overdone. Next time I plan on checking the cake at 45-50 minutes to test for doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Excellent cake! I took it to a BBQ, and was scared taking a new recipe without trying it first. It was GREAT. I had just dug up carrots from my garden and had so many I didn't know what to do. Searching I found this recipe and am glad I did. I used the cream cheese glaze and it was wonderful. I also used my food processor to do the chore of grating the carrots for me. It took less than one minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Best ever! Except I left out the corn syrup in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was very good. It tasted even better the next day. I will make this again but next time I will reduce the amount of oil down to 3/4 cup because it was very oily. Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I used regular raisins soaked in rum, and added a few walnuts too. Really moist and tasty. I didn't make the frosting this time because I didn't have the cream cheese on hand. Next time I'll try the frosting too. This recipe beats the dried out stuff we get at the grocer's bakery any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I could not get over at how DELICIOUS AND MOIST this cake was! Before making this cake, I only had eaten carrot cake. I could not believe I had actually made such an incredible cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this specially for my dad's birthday. It came out great, but broke into two big pieces while I was taking it out of the pan.. I used butter to keep the flour on the pan, and I'm not quite sure what went wrong. The frosting tasted great and, despite appearances, turned out to be enough for even a 10" bundt cake (more surface area than a normal cake). Used 3/4 cup vegetable oil as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
It is a little bit too greasy. For the rest is excelent! I reduced 1/4 cup of oil on the second try and it came out fluffier. I will try to reduce the oil more on the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Wow a keeper for sure. I used 1 cup of oil and 1 c brown sugar and 1 c white sugar, also I baked at 350 40 minutes in 9x13. I also used cream cheese frosting. Tip: I use a Kitchen Aid chopper (any chopper will do they sell some at Walmart mini choppers for $5 on black friday) I put my carrots in there and pulse until finely chopped, work as well as shredded and a lot easier. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I used 1/4 cup less oil and used store bought creamcheese icing, then coated the entire cake in walnuts. It tasted alright, but I had big problems with the batter overflowing the pans. You should see my oven! It is definately too much batter to put in just two round pans! Pretty good recipe overall, and some of my problems may have been cook error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States