Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Rave Reviews for this Carrot Cake. Followed suggestions of others and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar, no raisins don't care for them. I have made this 3 times now and everyone is asking for the recipe. Used the cream cheese frosting recipe from here instead of the glaze. Also, I baked it in a bundt pan. Its a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The cake tastes great but, oh the calories! So much sugar and oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beingspaceman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This cake was VERY moist and super tasty. I tweaked it by adding a cup of pecan pieces and an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon (just because I love cinnamon). It was the first cake I ever baked from scratch, and it only took me 20 minutes to prep. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
YUM...MOIST...GREAT cake! Well worth making! Pared down the oil to 1 cup, then doubled the recipe for a large two layer baby shower cake, will omit 1/2 tsp of baking soda next time. I was afraid from how it smelled that it would have a baking powder/soda taste...it didn't! But I will make that adjustment as a test if I double the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yummy....loved this. It was moist and just the right sweetness. I took a shortcut and used canned cream cheese frosting. Very dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I combined this recipe with the design for easter suprise cupcakes...I am serving them tomorrow for my family & my fiances family. My mom loves carrot cake so I wanted to make her some special cake AND have it available for the whole family...she tried it tonight and loved it! The glaze tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpidlaoan4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Pretty good Carrot Cake. I made it in a 13 x9 pan but still came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Really good! Cut the oil back to 1 cup, but otherwise left the recipe alone. My glaze turned slightly beige because I used too much vanilla, but didn't affect the taste at all. Husband liked this as well... so it's a keeper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Excellent!!! I made it for my birthday and I am crazy about the taste of it!!!It will be one of my favorite cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corfu, Ionian Islands, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Based on previous reviews, I made some changes: 1/4 oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup light brown sugar. I also used the cream cheese glaze as written. This cake was a hit at a recent party. It had just the right amount of moistness and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States