Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I should have read the reviews before hand because they are pretty spot on. The cakes weren't so much dry as they were just bland tasting. I added almond extract to the cakes tho and subbed it out for the vanilla extract in the frosting which I'm glad I did because in the end that's what saved it for me. Although the recipe calls for plenty of sugar, I just wasn't tasting it. I candied micro carrots for a garnish and sprinkled grated nutmeg and a vanilla bean flure de sel to finish so all in all they ended up having plenty of flavor (thanks to the toppings) but next time I make carrot cake I will be using a different recipe. And yes, the frosting recipe is twice what you need(but delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
They came out of the oven looking like expired oatmeal over the edges of the pan. We only filled the cups up 2/3 the way and followed ALL of the instructions carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Thank god I read the reviews (mind you, after I already started) I was already worried that it would be too dry, based on the ingredients list. But with a helpful hint from another member I was able to save them! Tip: add the water and oil first and then beat in the eggs, the mixture was so dense before I added the water that it actually blew the motor on my electric mixer. Overall, with those tips, pretty great recipe! Happy baking! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have never made carrot cake before and gave this recipe a try (I bake all the time, so I should have gone with my gut). The flavor was very nice and mine did not come out too dry, like others have mentioned (but I could see how they could get dry and would probably up the oil/water next time). The one issue I have is how vague the amt of carrots is. "4 Large carrots". I used the suggested amt and as I was mixing, I kept saying to myself "this looks like WAY TOO MUCH carrot" and it WAS! I wish it said something more like "4 large carrots, yielding @ 2 cups" or whatever it's supposed to be. I didn't buy HUGE carrots and it yielded probably 5 cups..yikes! So I ended up with 12 cupcakes and a corning-ware size cake (but OVERWHELMINGLY Carroty). Also the icing is WAY too much, if you end up with 12 cupcakes, you only need HALF the icing. I will tweak the recipe next time, as it was easy and the flavor was nice, IF there were less carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I saw everyone's comments that it was dry, but I have often used baby food carrots in place of normal carrots (12 ounces total). They weren't as moist as my normal carrot cake recipe, but they still had a nice consistency and tasted delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great recipe but WAY TOO MUCH icing. Definitely half that part for the amount of cupcakes this recipe makes. So 1/2 (2) 8oz bars of butter 1 cup confectioners sugar 1 package of cream cheese Vanilla, you can keep the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe and thought that it was great. Next time when I make this recipe I will add either walnuts, pecans or chocolate chips to the recipe. This recipe is easy to make and had a great flavour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I just wanted to say that i was looking for a recipe like the one i use to use. And i thought this would be a close second. But i want to say that i was very disappointed with the results of the batter. Wayyyy to dry! and the ONLY reason i am giving it a 3 stars because of Kimberly Parkers' post about adding oil and water. Thank you so much! You saved my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The cake turned out great... But I was having a look at the other comments and and I saw that people were saying the cupcakes they made were really dry. But then I saw one comment that was so brilliant she used 1/4 cup of canola oil and 1/4 cup of water I imidiatly used the tweak and it was wonderful. I would recomend to use a different recipe for the cream cheese icing because there was way to much icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
All I can say is, Awesome! So moist and delicious. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States