Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I should have read the reviews before hand because they are pretty spot on. The cakes weren't so much dry as they were just bland tasting. I added almond extract to the cakes tho and subbed it out for the vanilla extract in the frosting which I'm glad I did because in the end that's what saved it for me. Although the recipe calls for plenty of sugar, I just wasn't tasting it. I candied micro carrots for a garnish and sprinkled grated nutmeg and a vanilla bean flure de sel to finish so all in all they ended up having plenty of flavor (thanks to the toppings) but next time I make carrot cake I will be using a different recipe. And yes, the frosting recipe is twice what you need(but delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
They came out of the oven looking like expired oatmeal over the edges of the pan. We only filled the cups up 2/3 the way and followed ALL of the instructions carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Thank god I read the reviews (mind you, after I already started) I was already worried that it would be too dry, based on the ingredients list. But with a helpful hint from another member I was able to save them! Tip: add the water and oil first and then beat in the eggs, the mixture was so dense before I added the water that it actually blew the motor on my electric mixer. Overall, with those tips, pretty great recipe! Happy baking! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have never made carrot cake before and gave this recipe a try (I bake all the time, so I should have gone with my gut). The flavor was very nice and mine did not come out too dry, like others have mentioned (but I could see how they could get dry and would probably up the oil/water next time). The one issue I have is how vague the amt of carrots is. "4 Large carrots". I used the suggested amt and as I was mixing, I kept saying to myself "this looks like WAY TOO MUCH carrot" and it WAS! I wish it said something more like "4 large carrots, yielding @ 2 cups" or whatever it's supposed to be. I didn't buy HUGE carrots and it yielded probably 5 cups..yikes! So I ended up with 12 cupcakes and a corning-ware size cake (but OVERWHELMINGLY Carroty). Also the icing is WAY too much, if you end up with 12 cupcakes, you only need HALF the icing. I will tweak the recipe next time, as it was easy and the flavor was nice, IF there were less carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I saw everyone's comments that it was dry, but I have often used baby food carrots in place of normal carrots (12 ounces total). They weren't as moist as my normal carrot cake recipe, but they still had a nice consistency and tasted delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great recipe but WAY TOO MUCH icing. Definitely half that part for the amount of cupcakes this recipe makes. So 1/2 (2) 8oz bars of butter 1 cup confectioners sugar 1 package of cream cheese Vanilla, you can keep the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe and thought that it was great. Next time when I make this recipe I will add either walnuts, pecans or chocolate chips to the recipe. This recipe is easy to make and had a great flavour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I just wanted to say that i was looking for a recipe like the one i use to use. And i thought this would be a close second. But i want to say that i was very disappointed with the results of the batter. Wayyyy to dry! and the ONLY reason i am giving it a 3 stars because of Kimberly Parkers' post about adding oil and water. Thank you so much! You saved my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The cake turned out great... But I was having a look at the other comments and and I saw that people were saying the cupcakes they made were really dry. But then I saw one comment that was so brilliant she used 1/4 cup of canola oil and 1/4 cup of water I imidiatly used the tweak and it was wonderful. I would recomend to use a different recipe for the cream cheese icing because there was way to much icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
All I can say is, Awesome! So moist and delicious. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States