Carrot Cake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
My entire family loves this recipe...however we've revised it a bit...we substitute an equal amount of apple sauce for the oil. Makes the cake lighter and drastically reduces the fat calories. Now if we can just make the frosting calorie free!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Let me say up, this is a very good recipe as far as ease of preparation and taste. For those reasons alone, I gave it 4 stars. But, I could not, in all good conscience, make this recipe as directed because of the high fat and sugar content. I substituted applesauce for the oil and Egg Beaters for the eggs. I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup each and used Splenda and Brown Sugar Splenda. I like to be able to serve desserts, but without breaking the bank in terms of calories from sugar and fat. I highly recommend this recipe, but a healthier version of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These are outstanding! I followed the recipe (ingredient-wise) exactly. I made these with the suggested cooking time the first time and they were way too moist, but very flavorful. I made them again 5 days later and increased the cooking time by 15 minutes and they were PERFECT. Man, these are good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is the best ever carrot cake! Everyone here just loved it. I made a three layer carrot cake out of the recipe with cream cheese icing. Just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This is delicious. I didn't have a jelly roll pan so I used the biggest cake pan I had.. a little bigger than 9x13.. so I had to adjust cooking time to 40 to 45 minutes. It was more cake-like, moist and everybody loved it. I also used the whipped cream cheese frosting and sprinkled finely chopped pecans over. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I served this for a baby homecoming party and it was a hit. This recipe is especially good for those who don't like little bits of anything in their carrot cake. It was just smooth and very tasty. I was even asked for the recipe. Didn't change the recipe a bit either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This was a very simple carrot cake bar. It took me about 30 minutes for the whole recipe (baking and prep time). It was really easy. It is very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Kids loved it. Cheaper alternative to baby food carrots is pureed steamed carrots. Just steam 2C baby carrots and put them in the blender. Other things I snuck in with the pureed carrots: juice of 1/2 orange, 1/2C applesauce, 1/2c grated coconut flakes. Added 1/2 C oatmeal to the flour. Doubled the spices. Threw in 1/2C raisins too. Baked same amount of time (30mins). Turned out perfect bars - moist and cakelike, but held together. Not gummy at all! Top with kefir cheese frosting or cream cheese frosting if regular frosting has too much sugar for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I make these bars for my husband every year on his birthday - they are his favorite. We tested several carrot cake cupcakes around town for our wedding reception and couldn't find one that we really liked, so my grandma tried this recipe out as a cupcake and they turned out great! She made them a week ahead of time, put them in the freezer and when thawed you couldn't tell they weren't from a bakery - they were still moist and delicious! So, a special thank you to Linda for this great recipe! Not the healthiest thing in the world but they were great for our wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
very yummy! I did sub some items like wheat flour for reg. and also I used huney for the sugar. Turned out very moist and yummy. Everyone really loved them. I WILL make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States