Carrot Cake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was incredibly easy to make. My family loved them! I did watch my baking time, I had to cook for over 30 minutes - but altitude, stove type, pan size/shape etc...would be to blame for that. They turned out light and fluffy, I added a cream cheese icing too, which made them PERFECT! My guess is the recipe would work with Banana baby food? I plan on trying it soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wonderful carrot cake recipe! I made this for Easter dessert and even people who say they "don't care for carrot cake" loved this dessert! I topped it with a home made cream cheese frosting, of course. The one thing I did slightly different was that I baked it in a 9.5"x13.5" glass baking pan because I did not have the type of pan specified in the recipe. I turned down the temp to 340 and baked it for about 35 minutes before it was done in the center. It looked a bit dark on the outside, but this was just because of the carrots, I believe, because it turned out very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekicks83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe except baked in a 9x13 pan which took about 50 min. I frosted the cake with whipped cream cheese frosting..... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We substituted apple sauce for 2/3 of the oil, and used half the sugar. They came out light and muffiny, and not too sweet, which was perfect for using Cream Cheese Frosting. They were more like a carroty spice cake than carrot cake, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It was alittle too sweet, so I added another cup of flour 1 teaspoon of baking soda, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Next time I'll use only 1 cup of sugar. I also used a can of sliced carrots and blended them up instead of baby food carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This is delicious. I didn't have a jelly roll pan so I used the biggest cake pan I had.. a little bigger than 9x13.. so I had to adjust cooking time to 40 to 45 minutes. It was more cake-like, moist and everybody loved it. I also used the whipped cream cheese frosting and sprinkled finely chopped pecans over. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was delicious. I halved the recipe, using 2 jars of baby food carrots and canola oil. I also added more flour and baked it for about 30 minutes in a cake pan instead of the jelly roll so it was more like brownies. I didn't frost it. My toddler loved it! I'm having such a difficult time getting her to eat veggies and this was great. I wish I read the reviews before making it. Next time I'll try some of the healthier substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Maybe had I followed the recipe completely it would have turned out better? I sub for 1c apple sauce to the 1c oil, and only used 1/2 cup of oil. I didnt seem to have a real apparent carrot flavor and was a tad on the eggy side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Decent recipe. Using jars of baby carrots saves a lot of time and work as well. Took more like 30 minutes (not 20) to bake, and my oven's spot on. I heeded other's advice and substituted some of the oil (canola) with unsweetened applesauce - 1/2 cup to be exact. I'll go more if not all applesauce in the future. Maybe that impacted the bake time? These aren't really 'bars', though - it's more of a carrot sheet cake. Good flavor and moist. Great way to make a large amount for a party and to get kids to eat some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I have made this for several years. I used to take it to work. They fought over the last few pieces. I frost with the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States