Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
Dang it, missed the word “drained“ pineapple, so I put almost 20 oz of pineapple plus juice in there! Wondered why it was so soupy. Rather than throw it all out I put another cup of flour and probably another 2 teaspoons of baking soda in the batter. This is apparently a very forgiving recipe because it turned out OK. The frosting makes it, in my opinion. Baked to perfection at about 56 minutes (took me a minute to realize I hadn't put the timer on, flustered I guess). Took one star off because the recipe directions mention vanilla twice for the cake part in two different paragraphs, and because it would be very helpful if the words "drained pineapple" were in the actual directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I can nowhere in this printed recipe how many carrots to use! Read it over and over but nowhere was it mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
I made this cake into cupcakes and there were all the rave at my job. I also make this same recipe as a layered cake in 3 8" cake pans and it turns out perfect. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I tried this recipe as directed except I left out the coconut and pineapple. It turned out looking more like a fruit cake and was very thick and sticky. I had a hard time getting it out of the pan. It had entirely too much sugar and salt and could use more carrot. I wont be making this again. I don't know how it has accomplished a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
My boys loved this, but I found it a little too "crumbly". I'm giving a 4 star because of their input. Personally, I like a cake with more density. It's all a matter of tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I have made this recipe several times now, including in cupcake form. I use regular Vitamin D milk and a little more carrots and vanilla but generally follow the cake recipe and it is REALLY good. Cooking time for me was as low as 30 minutes in an oven that had been in use for a long time prior to baking this item. The butter cream frosting recipe uses too much sugar. Only use 2 cups of sugar and you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made a couple substitutions. 1) I used applesauce in place of the pineapple. I only had 1c of applesauce, so I added an extra cup of grated carrots, also to try and mimic the pineapple texture. When the cake came out, I thought it looked dry, so I brushed it with orange juice, thinking that would also add a citrus flavor that was lacking without the pineapple. When I tried the cake after frosting it, it was completely moist and not dry at all. 2) I used neufchatel cheese in place of cream cheese and it was fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the best carrot cake I have ever had! It was so moist! Since I couldn't find a 15 ounce can of crushed pineapple, I used 2 eight ounce cans drained. I figured 16 oz. was better than using a 20 oz. can as some had done. Then used paper towels to absorb a little more moisture but certainly not all. Seemed a little soupy when I put mixture into pan, but resisted urge to add more flour. It baked perfectly, not soupy at all. After reading some reviews, I used a different frosting that called for only 2 cups of sugar and one half teaspoon more of vanilla. Also sprinkled chopped walnuts over top of frosting. Yum, yum, will be sure to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Made this Carrot Cake but used a different frosting. Carrot Cake got great reviews. I made it into cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I found that my batter was way too runny, so I ended up adding about another 1/2 to 1 cup of flour. The batter also seemed a bit lacking in spice so I added all spice and nutmeg which I think added to the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States