Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Thank you so much for sharing the fantastic recipe. It was soooo easy that I was scared I was doing something incorrect as I am not a baker. I even added some raisins as I did not have coconut. I would recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Tried this recipe but changed baking temp to 275F for 50 minutes and it came out really moist and yummy. We don't like really sweet cakes so sugar reduced to 1.25 cups, and carrots doubled to 4 cups. We'll make it again ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I couldn't find the recipe I usually use for carrot cake so I went searching. I must say, this one was so much better. We absolutely loved it. It was nice and moist. This is definitely a keeper and I'm not to sad about loosing mine!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rose Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hinckley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I followed the recipes to a tee, so--no changes were made. I decided to make cupcakes, so had to guess on the baking time. The cupcakes never rose--and in fact, deflated when taken out of the oven. I thought I might have undercooked them, but they were definitely cooked. I baked them for 25 minutes. I was disappointed in the lack of rise in them, and then how dense they were. Taste wise, they were very tasty--just not what I think of as Carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This cake was excellent! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday because all he wanted was a homemade carrot cake this year. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I added pecans in place of the walnuts and added about 2/3 cup raisins (I don't care for them but he wanted raisins). I baked it in 2 nine inch rounds (didn't notice that the recipe was for 9 x 13) and baked it for the full 55 minutes. I thought since the pans were smaller than called for that I had ruined the cake and that it would be dry. Not at all! It was still very moist! I cut the cakes into 4 tiers and I doubled the frosting. Will make this again next year for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My husband's favorite cake is Carrot Cake. Over the years I have tried almost every recipe I've come across. THIS IS IT!!!! Once I tried this recipe, I have never strayed. I have made it as cupcakes over a dozen times the past year. They are devoured in minutes. No adaptions needed in this recipe. We omit the nuts for allergies and I've found a ground coconut instead of the flakes (same amount). Totally perfect. Thank you Marc Boyer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I was so happy with this how recipe turned out. Carrot cake is one of my favorite desserts so I had high expectations for this baking venture and I was not disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly for the most part...I did omit the coconut (only because one of the people I was making it for has an aversion, I'm sure it would have been a delicious addition) and use about 1/4 cup more grated carrots (for a half recipe). I also used pecans instead of walnuts because I had some to use. Delicious and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made this recipe without frosting to let kids frost for fun. Everyone loves this and it is a new family favorite. I made cup cakes in 30 minutes and a loaf in 55 minutes all cooked to perfection. My can of pineapple was 20 oz. I I used a tiny bit less oil to cut a few calories and it was still perfectly most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cowsmanne
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Game changer! Truly amazing!! I have a reputation because of this cake! Great with walnuts or pecans. I use applesauce instead of oil...something I do on just about all baking recipes. With my oven it takes over an hour to bake. You can't go wrong here. OHH final note- I won 2nd place in the state fair with this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Awesome cake recipe. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II because I didn't want anything too sweet on top. I made a few changes. I used whole wheat flour as that is what I had on hand, I blended pineapple as I didn't have any crushed. I only used 1/2 cup of pecans and added 1/2 cup of raisins. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I don't like overly spiced carrot cake, but I think I will add a little something more the next time. I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States