Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is my absolute go-to recipe for carrot cake and cream cheese frosting. With that said, I must say that 15 oz of pineapple is too much for making a traditional round cake with more than one layer, as it is too moist and will cause the top layer to collapse. A word of advice for more flavor - split white sugar into half and use brown sugar as the other for more depth. Drain and pat the pineapple well to ensure that the cake doesn't topple. Sift the flour to create more air in the cake since a whisk can only do so much. Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight if making cake layers and don't bother trying to make the frosting absolutely smooth - cutting the cake to make smooth sides WILL NOT WORK. There are too many thick, chunky components to do so. As cupcakes, the amount of pineapple in this recipe will do well. Everyone that knows my cakes agrees that this recipe is hands down the best carrot cake ever. Thank you, Marc, for adding it to the website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by namerae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Love the balance of spice, not overwhelming like I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecadet0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Pond, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sipsey, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
PERFECT! Just made it and the whole family raved about it! Because my husband has celiac disease ( no wheat) I used gluten free wheat and it still turned out perfect!!!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Very yummy & filling. Only changes: decreased sugar to 1 1/2 cups; did 1/2 oil & 1/2 applesauce; omitted the coconut & added toasted coconut on top instead. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Delicious, very moist and everyone said it was the best they ever had. I used a yogurt cream cheese for the frosting and used yogurt in place of the buttermilk as well. Added raisins instead of nuts. Other than that I would have added more cinnamon. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Very good carrot cake. I did make one change to the icing. I only only use 1 cup of confectioners sugar. Plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made this recipe for Easter. It was a big hitt. Guest wanted to take some home. Only changes were I usedc 3 cups of the confectioner"s sugar and addedd 5-6 tsp of pineapple juice to the frosting that came from the drained pineapples . Also I made a 2 layer cake. Yummy !!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
When you're looking for really good carrot cake, this is it! Frosting, too! Amaz-Balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holstein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I make a bunny cake every Easter ( a tradition in the family) Thought I would make a carrot cake from scratch this year and came across this recipe. This will be a keeper!! I followed the recipe and only changed the walnut ingredient to pecans ( I had a big bag in the freezer) The cake turned out moist and the frosting was perfect and easy to work with. Next time I make this cake I might add a little more spice, with this being said the cake is perfect as is with the 2 tsp of cinnamon if you like a lightly spiced cake. I like the chunky texture of the nuts, coconut, and pineapple. I am adding this to my recipe box now. Thank you Marc for the yummy recipe! By the way, this recipe makes two perfect 9 inch round cakes. I only needed one for my bunny and froze the other one, with the left over frosting. Can't wait to see how it taste after freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States