Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I'm aware that the pineapple added to this recipe makes for a beautifully moist cake. With that said, however, I found the amount of pineapple to be overwhelming. With numerous chunks of pineapple in every bite, the end result was more like fruit cake! Some might like this textured abundance, but I'm more of a purist and prefer to taste more veggie than fruit in my carrot cake. Maybe halving the amount of pineapple or not adding it will be better? On a positive note, the frosting for this cake was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Good recipe. I made exactly as written, minus nuts. Very moist and a nice flavor. I made cupcakes (18 small and 6 jumbo). We actually like it better without icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Amazing recipe! I cut the pineapple and nuts in half and used regular milk instead of buttermilk. I still love it and my husband always begs me to make it for him. Great for cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnfern

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Loved it! I added Sour Cream and Mayonnaise to make them extra moist- and they were delicious- melted in your mouth! Everyone LOVED THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It was good, but not any better than others I have made; carrot cake is pretty universal in flavor. Yes, it does not rise but it is fluffy inside as most carrot cakes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is very close to my son's Hawaiian Wedding Cake recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaseasmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Best carrot cake ever! I only had 2 eggs, so that's what I used, and I only used half of the can of pineapple. I used half white sugar, half brown. I added extra sugar to taste to the icing. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly (which I don't often do) and it turned out perfectly. Loaded with taste and texture and very easy to make. I made my own cream cheese frosting for it, but this cake is tasty and moist enough to eat even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Best cake ever. I used a mix for the dry ingredients. I just wanted to spice up the box mix a little and came across this. I will never make anything else now. The frosting is perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was my first time making Carrot cake, I love Carrot Cake, but am a little picky in the way I like it. This cake was PERFECT. Great dense carrot and coconut texture. I used only 1.5 cups of carrots, simply because I got tired of shreading them, and unsweetened fancy flake coconut. The pineapple adds fantastic moisture, although you don't really taste it. I baked mine in 2 9 inch round pans (so in my oven it only took 27 minutes to bake. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States