Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This cake was excellent! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday because all he wanted was a homemade carrot cake this year. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I added pecans in place of the walnuts and added about 2/3 cup raisins (I don't care for them but he wanted raisins). I baked it in 2 nine inch rounds (didn't notice that the recipe was for 9 x 13) and baked it for the full 55 minutes. I thought since the pans were smaller than called for that I had ruined the cake and that it would be dry. Not at all! It was still very moist! I cut the cakes into 4 tiers and I doubled the frosting. Will make this again next year for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My husband's favorite cake is Carrot Cake. Over the years I have tried almost every recipe I've come across. THIS IS IT!!!! Once I tried this recipe, I have never strayed. I have made it as cupcakes over a dozen times the past year. They are devoured in minutes. No adaptions needed in this recipe. We omit the nuts for allergies and I've found a ground coconut instead of the flakes (same amount). Totally perfect. Thank you Marc Boyer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I was so happy with this how recipe turned out. Carrot cake is one of my favorite desserts so I had high expectations for this baking venture and I was not disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly for the most part...I did omit the coconut (only because one of the people I was making it for has an aversion, I'm sure it would have been a delicious addition) and use about 1/4 cup more grated carrots (for a half recipe). I also used pecans instead of walnuts because I had some to use. Delicious and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made this recipe without frosting to let kids frost for fun. Everyone loves this and it is a new family favorite. I made cup cakes in 30 minutes and a loaf in 55 minutes all cooked to perfection. My can of pineapple was 20 oz. I I used a tiny bit less oil to cut a few calories and it was still perfectly most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cowsmanne
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Game changer! Truly amazing!! I have a reputation because of this cake! Great with walnuts or pecans. I use applesauce instead of oil...something I do on just about all baking recipes. With my oven it takes over an hour to bake. You can't go wrong here. OHH final note- I won 2nd place in the state fair with this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Awesome cake recipe. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II because I didn't want anything too sweet on top. I made a few changes. I used whole wheat flour as that is what I had on hand, I blended pineapple as I didn't have any crushed. I only used 1/2 cup of pecans and added 1/2 cup of raisins. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I don't like overly spiced carrot cake, but I think I will add a little something more the next time. I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Traditionally delicious. Simplicity at its best. Friends that do not enjoy coconut or nuts appreciate this cake. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe is freaken awesome! Definitely deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
it taste like a fruit cake instead of the 3/4 cup oil I did 4tbs butter and 4oz of milk I did 1tbs vanilla not tsp. instead of nuts I did 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup flaxseed it was a great birthday cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I followed the suggestion of some other reviews and did not drain the pineapple juice before adding the pineapple. It turned out fine but it actually made the cake a bit too heavy for me. Nevertheless, it was still a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States