Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have been looking for best carrot cake recipes and this is the one. It turned out to be moist and soft. i reduced the sugar and skipped coconut and pineapple because i dont really like it sweet. instead i added more grated carrots. Also added about 1/2 cup of sour cream. I didnt make the frosting simply because it tastes so nice as it is. even my husband, who doesnt really into cakes, loves this one. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe is AWESOME!!! Im a big fan of carrot cake and a baking perfectionist and I tip my hat to this recipe. The only suggestion I have is making the sugar only 1.5 cups. Its still sweet but not overly. I made this recipe into cupcakes so that I could do some without nuts for my niece who is allergic and they all came out beautiful! Next time I"ll try making it into a tiered cake. Look NO FURTHER for a Carrot Cake recipe, THIS IS IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Family Loved the cake so do I. Sift the flour i didn't and I ended up with a pretty heavy and dense cake. If you want something light then sift. 3/4 cups oil I found to be a bit much, my cake did turn out greasy. Other than those two points the cake is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefitup

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Most amazing carrot cake I have ever eaten (and I've eaten many...) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loola
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
So nice and moist..I just don't like nuts in my cake,so I cut the nuts and coconut out and instead added 3/4 cup flour ,sauteed the shredded carrots with 2 tablespoons butter and 1/4 c.sugar as Divajojo review suggested, nd sprayed the cake with little amount of pineapple juice before frosting it..that way,it kept so moist and fresh for days..thank u for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I took this cake to the office, and everyone raved! I was very popular that day :-) I, too, used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site, and it is so creamy and good -- not too sweet. For the cake itself, I cut the sugar down to 1-1/4 C. Next time, I'll just use 1 C. Cut back on oil, too, and used a bit of applesauce. Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I followed this recipe as written and the five stars is for the cake....wonderfully light, moist and flavorful. Could also be made in to a very pretty layer cake rather than baked as directed. I did not care for the cream cheese frosting, preferring more cream cheese and less sugar. The frosting would rate 3 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Glory, glory hallelujah, this cake is delicious. I followed the receipe exactly (except for the frosting), and I do believe it's the best carrot cake I've ever had. I frosted the cake with "Whip Cream Cream Cheese Frosting" from Allrecipes, which was perfect. Outstanding. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I began to put this cake together and realized I did not have enough pineapple, nor did I have any coconut! I had already mixed the the sugar oil and eggs, so I had to do something. I had 2/3 cup of pineapple, and knew I needed at least 1.5 cups. So, I peeled a juicy pear, chopped it up really fine, and did the same with a very fragrant sweet apple. Together it made another 2/3 cup of fruit. I also decided to soak a cup of raisins in 2 tablespoons Grand Marnier and 2 tablespoons boiling water. When they had plumped up, I added them with the other fruit too. To the dry ingredients, I also added 1/4 tsp of grated nutmeg, along with 1 tsp grated orange zest and 1 tsp grated lemon zest. This cake was absolutely delicious! I will use this recipe over and over. Since my husband hates coconut, he appreciated it not being there, however, I think it would only have enhanced this recipe. I strongly urge anyone to try this cake. My only criticism is that the frosting was a little bit too sweet, and I would look for a different cream cheese recipe for the the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Bancroft Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made this last night for hubby's b-day and it was delicious!!! It was a very moist cake. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States