Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Moab Gramma
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe. First time I've ever made Carrot cake from scratch. I did change the ingredients a little bit. My family absolutely hates coconut! so I left that out and substituted some shredded Granny Smith apples. I also added about a half cup of raisins just because my family likes it that way. Also, I baked it in a Bundt pan and decorated it to look like a Jack-o-lantern. (the stem is not cake) Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moab Gramma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for in a carrot cake! I usually go to the natural food store and get their vegan carrot cake, but they quit making it all year around. I tried this recipe, and it tastes even better than what I got at the store. (No, I'm not vegan, but replace the eggs and dairy milk and my vegan friend said it's still fantastic) I also added a 1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper to the frosting, because I like sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rubylithe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have been looking for best carrot cake recipes and this is the one. It turned out to be moist and soft. i reduced the sugar and skipped coconut and pineapple because i dont really like it sweet. instead i added more grated carrots. Also added about 1/2 cup of sour cream. I didnt make the frosting simply because it tastes so nice as it is. even my husband, who doesnt really into cakes, loves this one. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe is AWESOME!!! Im a big fan of carrot cake and a baking perfectionist and I tip my hat to this recipe. The only suggestion I have is making the sugar only 1.5 cups. Its still sweet but not overly. I made this recipe into cupcakes so that I could do some without nuts for my niece who is allergic and they all came out beautiful! Next time I"ll try making it into a tiered cake. Look NO FURTHER for a Carrot Cake recipe, THIS IS IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Family Loved the cake so do I. Sift the flour i didn't and I ended up with a pretty heavy and dense cake. If you want something light then sift. 3/4 cups oil I found to be a bit much, my cake did turn out greasy. Other than those two points the cake is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefitup

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Most amazing carrot cake I have ever eaten (and I've eaten many...) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loola
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
So nice and moist..I just don't like nuts in my cake,so I cut the nuts and coconut out and instead added 3/4 cup flour ,sauteed the shredded carrots with 2 tablespoons butter and 1/4 c.sugar as Divajojo review suggested, nd sprayed the cake with little amount of pineapple juice before frosting it..that way,it kept so moist and fresh for days..thank u for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I took this cake to the office, and everyone raved! I was very popular that day :-) I, too, used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site, and it is so creamy and good -- not too sweet. For the cake itself, I cut the sugar down to 1-1/4 C. Next time, I'll just use 1 C. Cut back on oil, too, and used a bit of applesauce. Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I followed this recipe as written and the five stars is for the cake....wonderfully light, moist and flavorful. Could also be made in to a very pretty layer cake rather than baked as directed. I did not care for the cream cheese frosting, preferring more cream cheese and less sugar. The frosting would rate 3 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Glory, glory hallelujah, this cake is delicious. I followed the receipe exactly (except for the frosting), and I do believe it's the best carrot cake I've ever had. I frosted the cake with "Whip Cream Cream Cheese Frosting" from Allrecipes, which was perfect. Outstanding. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States