Carrot Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
There's something seriously off with the ratio of ingredients in the burgers. I made the first batch exactly as follows (but I halved the recipe). I used only carrots. 6 cups of bread crumbs is at least twice the amount needed. I had to add extra eggs/oil just to be able to form them into patties. They didn't even stick to the bran flakes and they ended up tasting like bread crumb cakes with a bit of carrots. The next batch I made with a mixture of carrots/zucchini. I doubled the amount of veggies and halved the amount of bread crumbs. This time they turned out great. I ate them on their own and dipped them in garlic mayo. 1 star for the recipe, 4 star for the taste with major modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These were super! Very pleasant flavor, very flavorful! I did only use half of the breadcrumbs, as suggested by others. I also held the patty in one hand, and sprinkled the crushed cereal on, then turned it on to the other hand and sprinkled crushed cereal on the other side rather than dipping. When cooked, they were delicious, firm, flavorful patties! My husband was impressed by them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I was a little funny about trying this recipe but I am really glad I did!! My teen daughter is a vegetarian and the rest of us are not so I made these for her while we had chicken sandwiches and these were to die for!!! I added carrot and zucchini and followed the recipe exactly as stated and they held together perfectly and had an amazing flavor!! My whole non vegetarian family was jealous of my vegetarian teen after tasting these and they are requesting these for our next burger meal. Do try these, you won't be dissapointed.. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was ridiculously delicious! I made a serving for 6 instead of 12. I used 2 cups of bread crumbs instead of 3 (I toasted whole-wheat bread, cut it up into pieces and used my blender to make it into crumbs) and about 1 and a half cups of raisin bran cereal (I picked out all the raisins). I will definitely be making this again! I'm real anxious to share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I dunno. Just didn't "grab" any of us. Yeah, both kids (12 & 14) ate one (since the pork chops weren't done yet). They wouldn't have if I told them they were carrot burgers. I just said it was a side dish. Ate 'em with ketchup. 'Kinda tastes like ketchup with ketchup. For those who are going to try, I minced the onion & microwaved it with the carrots. It cooked nicely - no crunches. I didn't do the cereal coating & cooked 'em in a pan. 'Glad I tried it, but won't make it again. Next day: Had one cold. 'Reminded me of Thanksgiving bread dressing. Not a bad idea. Making dressing patties (with my recipe). Camping. Kids. Hmmm. I think the bread crumbs in it plus serving it on bread is just too much - yeah, bread. Maybe it's a better side dish with some type of gravy or sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I used only half the amount of breadcrumbs called for (3 cups instead of 6) and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
love it! love it! it tastes really good! i made a few changes as i don't have other ingredients available and i can't wait to make them. so, instead of mayonnaise i used cream cheese, i put in lots of minced garlic too. then i used 1 cup bread crumbs and 1 cup all-purpose flour as i used up the bread crumbs i have at home and looked for an alternative. for cereal flakes i used instant oatmeal. instead of baking, i fried it like the old school burgers. just used very little oil... made sure each side is cooked very well and of course the oatmeal is crunchy enough.i spread cream cheese on it and put in on a burger bun. ate it while it was still hot and yum yum yum!!! thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made these for a vegetarian option at a summer camp. They were a big hit with the campers and counselors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Doubled the veg. 50/50 carrots & zucchini. Halved the breadcrumbs. Used joghurt instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
At first when my dad asked how carrot burgers sounded for dinner I was a little hesitant. I figured we could try it, but had little faith it would be good enough to have again. I was wrong. This was a great vegetarian alternative. 6 cups of bread crumbs was way too much and my dad only used two. The burgers reminded me of a chicken patty, actually. Very filling. This one is a keeper; will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade Truman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States