Carrot Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I was a little funny about trying this recipe but I am really glad I did!! My teen daughter is a vegetarian and the rest of us are not so I made these for her while we had chicken sandwiches and these were to die for!!! I added carrot and zucchini and followed the recipe exactly as stated and they held together perfectly and had an amazing flavor!! My whole non vegetarian family was jealous of my vegetarian teen after tasting these and they are requesting these for our next burger meal. Do try these, you won't be dissapointed.. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
There's something seriously off with the ratio of ingredients in the burgers. I made the first batch exactly as follows (but I halved the recipe). I used only carrots. 6 cups of bread crumbs is at least twice the amount needed. I had to add extra eggs/oil just to be able to form them into patties. They didn't even stick to the bran flakes and they ended up tasting like bread crumb cakes with a bit of carrots. The next batch I made with a mixture of carrots/zucchini. I doubled the amount of veggies and halved the amount of bread crumbs. This time they turned out great. I ate them on their own and dipped them in garlic mayo. 1 star for the recipe, 4 star for the taste with major modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I used only half the amount of breadcrumbs called for (3 cups instead of 6) and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These were super! Very pleasant flavor, very flavorful! I did only use half of the breadcrumbs, as suggested by others. I also held the patty in one hand, and sprinkled the crushed cereal on, then turned it on to the other hand and sprinkled crushed cereal on the other side rather than dipping. When cooked, they were delicious, firm, flavorful patties! My husband was impressed by them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe! Even my carrot hating spouse loves it! I made a few changes. Mainly, I used corn flake cereal instead of wheat as that is what I had on hand. I did not use olive oil, I used regular vegetable oil and only 1 tablespoon. Then I put a tablespoon of fruit chutney in it. I also mixed some of the cereal crumbs in the batter itself to help hold it together better then coated it with the rest. I also added a bit of Cajun spice, but you can season it to your specific tastes. I have recommended this to my friends as I think it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These are so great. I've made them at least 20 times,Even burned they taste good! The serving size is a bit off. If you make it 6 servings,You can get about 9 burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is an interesting new way to eat more veggies, I only used 3 cups of breadcrumbs as others suggested and for cereal I used Special K. I was worried as I put it together because the patties didn't hold too well, but it was great coming out of the oven. Will try again with other veggies, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Doubled the veg. 50/50 carrots & zucchini. Halved the breadcrumbs. Used joghurt instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Fantastic!!! My whole family LOVED them. They were better than we expected. I did the recipe with half carrots/half zucchini and changed the bread crumbs to 3 cups as advised by others. This is going on favorites for sure:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was ridiculously delicious! I made a serving for 6 instead of 12. I used 2 cups of bread crumbs instead of 3 (I toasted whole-wheat bread, cut it up into pieces and used my blender to make it into crumbs) and about 1 and a half cups of raisin bran cereal (I picked out all the raisins). I will definitely be making this again! I'm real anxious to share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States