Carrot Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Today I made this for the second time. I added 1/4 cup brown sugar and doubled the cinnamon. Very yummy. Mine turned out to be a quick bread texture and flavor. I baked it for exactly 60 minutes. Thanks,Pam.PS It seemed to have more flavor the second time around. I believe a teaspoon of vanilla or 1/2t of orange extract would really bring out the flavor in this wonderfully textured bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Very good. I substituted 1/2 the oil with apple sauce and toasted pecans for the walnuts. I did not have any cherries. For anyone that does not have a scale 3.5 oz of coconut is aprox. 1 1/2 cups. I made it in my bread machine and topped it with orange cream cheese frosting (from this site). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
very good as muffins (bake for 15-20 min at 350) topped with homemade cream cheese frosting. Next time I would add more carrots and 1 1/2 c coconut, and more cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I baked this bread after my pediatrician suggested making these types of breads (zucchini, carrot) for breakfast to try and sneak some veggies into my toddler's diet. The whole family loved it! I substituted 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour for 1 1/4 cups of the all purpose flour, cut down the coconut to only 1 cup (many people said 1 1/2 cups was way too much) and left out the cherries and it tasted great. I made sure to use my food processor to basically MINCE the carrot, coconut, walnuts and raisins because I knew if I left them as instructed (shredded/chopped) my toddler would refuse to eat it with so many conflicting textures. It was a great call - seemed to meld the flavors even better and he gobbled it up. I HIGHLY recommend this bread to any Mom trying to be "deceptively delicious" and sneak veggies into their kids diet:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveplustwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I doubled this recipe because it sounded so good, and I am glad I did. It looks attractive and the taste is wonderful. I am guessing it gets better after sitting a day, but that won't happen around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieFanatic
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a great recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour and used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I didn't have applesauce so I used the full amount of oil. I also added a tsp of vanilla. Turned out super moist and delicious! I served it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II (recipe on this site). Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
made this and it was great! im about to make a 2nd batch. i did use half apple sauce though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was good I thought, but not great. I followed the suggesion of another reviewer and whirled the coconut in the food processor, and thought that was a good idea - I also would not have liked the long strands of coconut. Also left out the cherries. Also used half applesauce and half oil. Perhaps it will taste better today, as these breads often do the day after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I didn't add the cherries, but this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The Best Carrot bread I ever had. Huge hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States