Carrot Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I baked this bread after my pediatrician suggested making these types of breads (zucchini, carrot) for breakfast to try and sneak some veggies into my toddler's diet. The whole family loved it! I substituted 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour for 1 1/4 cups of the all purpose flour, cut down the coconut to only 1 cup (many people said 1 1/2 cups was way too much) and left out the cherries and it tasted great. I made sure to use my food processor to basically MINCE the carrot, coconut, walnuts and raisins because I knew if I left them as instructed (shredded/chopped) my toddler would refuse to eat it with so many conflicting textures. It was a great call - seemed to meld the flavors even better and he gobbled it up. I HIGHLY recommend this bread to any Mom trying to be "deceptively delicious" and sneak veggies into their kids diet:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveplustwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was good I thought, but not great. I followed the suggesion of another reviewer and whirled the coconut in the food processor, and thought that was a good idea - I also would not have liked the long strands of coconut. Also left out the cherries. Also used half applesauce and half oil. Perhaps it will taste better today, as these breads often do the day after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieFanatic
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a great recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour and used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I didn't have applesauce so I used the full amount of oil. I also added a tsp of vanilla. Turned out super moist and delicious! I served it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II (recipe on this site). Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
very good as muffins (bake for 15-20 min at 350) topped with homemade cream cheese frosting. Next time I would add more carrots and 1 1/2 c coconut, and more cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I didn't add the cherries, but this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
The smell was heavenly as it was baking but when it was time to eat, we thought the coconut overpowered the rest of the bread. I think the cherries and carrots got lost with all the coconut. I guess I will keep looking. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I brought this to my small office of 8 people this morning and it was gone in less than 5 hours. Everybody who tried it loved it. I opted not to add the cherries (that kind of freaked me out a little). I was also out of walnuts (which it needed) and used golden raisins and applesauce. EXCELLENT! Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The Best Carrot bread I ever had. Huge hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I took someones suggestion and added vanilla. Very tasty recipe. I made muffins instead of a bread and froze the extras. This recipe freezes very well. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I chose this bread primarily b/c I have a toddler who refuses to eat veggies so I decided to try this one given the ample amount of carrot in it .Well, baby doesn't care for it so much but my hubby and I love it .I substituted applesauce for most of the oil and didn't add walnut or cherries ...delish! the one thing I'll do next time is to pulse the coconut before adding, I find that I am not too crazy about the long strands of coconut in this bread and I like a smooth texture better. Great (and very healthy ) recipe.Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States