Carrot Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Just baked a double batch of this and to sum up a majority of the tweaks, here's what you need to modify: drop to 1/2c. white sugar and add 1/2c. brown sugar, 2 generous tsp cinnamon; drop to 1/4c. veg oil and add 1/4c. apple sauce; add 1 tsp vanilla. Like others, I omitted the cherries, just because this is carrot bread, not fruit bread and the addition of coconut, raisins, and walnuts was sufficient. I was also skeptical on overfilling the pan - it just seemed like a lot so I cut back and filled 2/3 pan and baked for 50 mins and really, I should have just put it all in one pan (well, two since I made a double batch). I agree with topping it with cream cheese frosting. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was good. I left out the coconut and cherries because I didn't have them. I had doubled the cinnamon, and we loved it. My only complaint was that it was a bit dry. Not sure quite why. I think next time I will add a little extra applesauce to it. If that doesn't work I will try adding another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this carrot bread twice. I was estimating 3oz so I ended up putting in 1 cup of coconut which was good but I'll be sure to try 1 1/2 cups (as suggested by a reviewer) next time. The second time I replaced a cup of flour with whole wheat and it was unnoticable. I have a dark blue glass 9x5 loaf pan and each time it took about 90 minutes to cook, but it came out moist with a nice crispy crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
made this and it was great! im about to make a 2nd batch. i did use half apple sauce though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Yummy! I made this bread exactly following the directions. There was a slightly oily taste. Next Time I will substitute some of the oil for applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keely
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe, and I didn't change anything. But it seemed like way too much batter for one 9x5 loaf pan, so maybe I'll try putting it in two pans next time, or making muffins. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I baked this bread after my pediatrician suggested making these types of breads (zucchini, carrot) for breakfast to try and sneak some veggies into my toddler's diet. The whole family loved it! I substituted 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour for 1 1/4 cups of the all purpose flour, cut down the coconut to only 1 cup (many people said 1 1/2 cups was way too much) and left out the cherries and it tasted great. I made sure to use my food processor to basically MINCE the carrot, coconut, walnuts and raisins because I knew if I left them as instructed (shredded/chopped) my toddler would refuse to eat it with so many conflicting textures. It was a great call - seemed to meld the flavors even better and he gobbled it up. I HIGHLY recommend this bread to any Mom trying to be "deceptively delicious" and sneak veggies into their kids diet:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveplustwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was good I thought, but not great. I followed the suggesion of another reviewer and whirled the coconut in the food processor, and thought that was a good idea - I also would not have liked the long strands of coconut. Also left out the cherries. Also used half applesauce and half oil. Perhaps it will taste better today, as these breads often do the day after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieFanatic
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a great recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour and used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I didn't have applesauce so I used the full amount of oil. I also added a tsp of vanilla. Turned out super moist and delicious! I served it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II (recipe on this site). Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
very good as muffins (bake for 15-20 min at 350) topped with homemade cream cheese frosting. Next time I would add more carrots and 1 1/2 c coconut, and more cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States