Carrot Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
this was delicious.. i cut the recipe in half and made 12 muffins.. i doubled the cinnamon, used a little more milk (almond) bc the batter seemed a bit dry to me.. i used half a cup of flaked coconut, left out the maraschino cherries and raisins and added 1/4 cup of dried cherries.. i subbed slivered almonds for the walnuts and added 1/2 tsp of almond extract.. SO good.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a good recipe! I substituted cherries for pinnapple and 30 grams less coconut and used 30 gr oats in its place! Keeping it just a wee bit healthier! Will use this recipe as a rough draft again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina Niedzella-Zechel
Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cliff Miller
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
OMG! I didn't have the coconut, cherries or raisins, so I omitted them, but did have fresh from the orchard walnuts, so they were chopped and added. Rather than grating carrots... I juice, so I used the pulp from my juicing that morning... carrots, celery, granny smith apples. The batter, it was level with the bread pan when it went into the oven, but puffed up oh so nice... you can see the pan level where the sides meet the top. As with any bread I bake, once out of the oven, the top gets covered with butter right out of the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Did not have any maraschino cherries so I left those out but it was still delicious without them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Just baked a double batch of this and to sum up a majority of the tweaks, here's what you need to modify: drop to 1/2c. white sugar and add 1/2c. brown sugar, 2 generous tsp cinnamon; drop to 1/4c. veg oil and add 1/4c. apple sauce; add 1 tsp vanilla. Like others, I omitted the cherries, just because this is carrot bread, not fruit bread and the addition of coconut, raisins, and walnuts was sufficient. I was also skeptical on overfilling the pan - it just seemed like a lot so I cut back and filled 2/3 pan and baked for 50 mins and really, I should have just put it all in one pan (well, two since I made a double batch). I agree with topping it with cream cheese frosting. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was good. I left out the coconut and cherries because I didn't have them. I had doubled the cinnamon, and we loved it. My only complaint was that it was a bit dry. Not sure quite why. I think next time I will add a little extra applesauce to it. If that doesn't work I will try adding another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this carrot bread twice. I was estimating 3oz so I ended up putting in 1 cup of coconut which was good but I'll be sure to try 1 1/2 cups (as suggested by a reviewer) next time. The second time I replaced a cup of flour with whole wheat and it was unnoticable. I have a dark blue glass 9x5 loaf pan and each time it took about 90 minutes to cook, but it came out moist with a nice crispy crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
made this and it was great! im about to make a 2nd batch. i did use half apple sauce though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Yummy! I made this bread exactly following the directions. There was a slightly oily taste. Next Time I will substitute some of the oil for applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keely
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe, and I didn't change anything. But it seemed like way too much batter for one 9x5 loaf pan, so maybe I'll try putting it in two pans next time, or making muffins. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States