Carrot-Bean Sprouts Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Absolutely delicious. I am glad I am the first one to rate this recipe and this should certainly be tried. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Easy recipe to follow! We grew our own bean sprouts and learned how to get into a fresh coconut to make this! The combination of ingredients has a fantastic taste! We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I love bean sprouts in Thai and Vietnamese food and was looking for another way to use them when I get a big bag. This was a great solution. I did burn the mustard seed the first time by accident, so reccomend that you watch that carefully, but otherwise really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Thought this was interesting and like having uses for extra bean sprouts. More coconut and mustard seed improves. Will try rice wine vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made this twice before rating it, because although I didn't love it the first time, I thought it had potential with some slight tweaks. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and it was just too sweet for my taste. The second time, I reduced the carrots to 1.5 cups, increased the bean sprouts to 1 cup, left out the sweetener, doubled the coconut, added more cilantro, and increased the mustard seed to 1 tb. It was much more flavorful and less carroty-sweet. Next time, I'll add just a little bit more mustard seed--it's the one ingredient that really gives this recipe its unique flavor and shouldn't be left out. I'll definitely keep this one with the mods. It's a beautiful salad, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Different and Delicious! I used splenda and olive oil (what I had on hand). Followed others and tripled the mustard seed amount as well as the coconut amount. Great flavor combonations. Felt like it was great right after making it, but after a few hours it lost it's jazz and then the next day was just a sweet mess. Used the pre-jullienne carrots in the bag and fresh bean sprouts from the farmers market. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
A nice alternative to coleslaw. I added a little cabbage. A sweet carrot side dish that went well with the Spicy Indian Dahl recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wanted to try this as I love bean sprouts. I did modify - adding 1 cup sprouts and 1 cup carrots and left out sugar. Also doubled mustard seed. Unfortunately I think I left too much of the sweet out so I will add a little sugar and let marinade more. But my husband loved the spice of the mustard seed. A little bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I thought this recipe was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I added a garnish of roasted coconut, plus I shredded, rather than grated, the carrots, to save time. I would say this recipe is not a keeper because the flavors just seemed to add up to not much and it was lacking in a certain "oomph."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Brewster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States