Carrie's Southern Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
add tennesse pride sausage!!ummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Yum! Added a few scoops of sour cream cause I needed to use up! A few dashes of garlic and onion powder and a small can of green chiles! Everyone loved! Great starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very simple and not bad. Someone gave me half a "loaf" of processed cheese so I used it for this. Since I only had half the loaf I only used one well drained can of diced tomatoes with green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Great basic recipe! My family's been making this forever, but adds a couple dashes of cumin, and some sliced scallions.... Always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc2683

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
The easiest queso ever! It's a staple. A couple of tips: Don't drain the RoTel - you're supposed to add the juice. To give it a head start, melt the cheese (dice it) and tomatoes in the microwave, one minute at a time. Stir between zaps. For a heartier dip, add some ground beef that's been browned and drained. Keep a bottle of beer handy to thin the queso if it starts drying out in the slow cooker. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Another variation on this popular dip is to add a can of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I laughed when I saw this because it has been such a staple in my family for years, it's almost part of the basic food pyramid. But for those of you that this recipe is new for, you cannot go wrong. Always good with chips or on burritos and never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I have been making this for years but had forgotten about it until we moved to Texas, where it is a staple appetizer at most Mexican restaurants. I usually make the whole 2 lb. block of cheese, and spice it up with more salsa, garlic powder and a little milk to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I am from Georgia and make this all the time! The only difference is that I add one package of breakfast sausage (determine your own choice of mild, spicy, or hot), browned before added to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I add salsa to mine and make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States