Carrie's Catfish Larue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
this was really great - my hubby loved it, and so did my kids. I didn't have any white wine so I just skipped it and added a little bit of spaghetti sauce.I served it over noodles but would be great over rice too. kind of like chicken cacciatore(sp?) but with catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I'm new to catfish but I really enjoyed this recipe. I did have to use frozen fish but because of the poaching, it came out flavorful and moist. I'm sure the wine would have been good, but I didn't have any. So, I used a splash of broth and that worked great. Am giving this recipe to 2 co-workers today since I've been raving about it all morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Great recipe! I'm a vegan but I cooked it for my family - used tilapia instead, and I didnt have tomato sauce, so I used a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes, and used half, then pureed the rest for a 'sauce'. I served it on top of mixed greens, which wilted gracefully for a healthy, low-fat and nutrient-filled dish! My eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was really good. I used fat free olive oil cooking spray to sautee the veggies and sear the fish to reduce the fat content, and it worked just fine.I will definately make this again, only next time I will try addding some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
It's great! My girls love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Thank you for this recipe! It was very good and even my husband, who typically doesn't love fish, said it was really good. I had to improvise with a few ingredients, didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, but had a fresh one so diced it; didn't have tomato sauce, so used a little spaghetti sauce; didn't have white wine, so used cream sherry. It turned out very good. I'm happy to have another way to make catfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipe was a great idea! I added some minced fresh garlic to the sauce and a teaspoon of garlic powder. We love garlic! And it came out really good. We also used steaked catfish that we caught ourselves and grilled them! Then poured this sauce over it. All I can say is Yum! Delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Awesome recipe. I used red/yellow peppers instead of bell because I had them on hand and I forgot the wine! But it turned out great- I served over brown rice. My hubby & I really enjoyed this. You will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
the folks that I cook for called this recipe "A KEEPER" This is the first time I cooked catfish in a way other than frying and I will definately use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I was hesitant to try it, but I'm glad I did! So good I shared with my mom. Anyhow, minor changes due to what I did or didn't have on hand. Had to use onion flakes (I'm NEVER out of onions!!), omitted green pepper and used catfish nuggets because that's what I had. Came out very good. Would have preferred to serve over rice but served over spiral noodles. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States