Carrie's Catfish Larue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I'm new to catfish but I really enjoyed this recipe. I did have to use frozen fish but because of the poaching, it came out flavorful and moist. I'm sure the wine would have been good, but I didn't have any. So, I used a splash of broth and that worked great. Am giving this recipe to 2 co-workers today since I've been raving about it all morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Husband loved it, I didn't enjoy it at all. Just like the author of the recipe says, it's only for those who don't care for the catfish overpowering flavor/smell. It's a good idea for something different, but I will stick with fried catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
the folks that I cook for called this recipe "A KEEPER" This is the first time I cooked catfish in a way other than frying and I will definately use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was really good. I used fat free olive oil cooking spray to sautee the veggies and sear the fish to reduce the fat content, and it worked just fine.I will definately make this again, only next time I will try addding some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I will make this again, but I plan to try different seasonings as it seemed to be lacking a little in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I was hesitant to try it, but I'm glad I did! So good I shared with my mom. Anyhow, minor changes due to what I did or didn't have on hand. Had to use onion flakes (I'm NEVER out of onions!!), omitted green pepper and used catfish nuggets because that's what I had. Came out very good. Would have preferred to serve over rice but served over spiral noodles. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was good but Husband said he would have preferred it with a different fish, maybe tilapia or cod. Thanks, Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Thank you for this recipe! It was very good and even my husband, who typically doesn't love fish, said it was really good. I had to improvise with a few ingredients, didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, but had a fresh one so diced it; didn't have tomato sauce, so used a little spaghetti sauce; didn't have white wine, so used cream sherry. It turned out very good. I'm happy to have another way to make catfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
A good alternative to fried catfish, but not as tasty as fried catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
It's great! My girls love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States