Caron's Kickin' Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Awesome, delicious, imaginative, different, flavorful...the list of adjectives goes on. This is truly a great tuna salad recipe. I cooked the quinoa traditionally, boiling vs. microwave. Because hubby and I like bold flavor, doubled the wasabi and upped the lemon a little. Absolutely incredible...makes me want to play with chicken salad with a dash of wasabi...etc. Many kudos and thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Great idea, Thank you! - It never occurred to me to mix Quinoa with Tuna. Also- make sure to rinse the Quinoa a few times before cooking to ensure there is no bitter taste. It has to do with a protective coating/residue called saponin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a great recipe to play with. I changed out several ingredients, except for the tuna, quinoa, lemon juice and mayonnaise. I didn't have any wasabi powder so I added grape tomatoes, shredded apple and carrots. I didn't have celery either so I used some celery seed, which was tasty. Then the best addition, I chopped a small handful of walnuts and threw that in. It all tasted wonderful together! I find that quinoa is becoming a staple in my kitchen and this is one more recipe I will add to my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
OMG, this was so good. Didn't have Wasabi powder, no celery and can't eat onions, but I sauted julienned zucchini and chopped carrot, adding in onion powder and the other ingredients. Served it hot, not cold. Wow! Was soooo good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The wasabi was a BRILLIANT idea...I'm constantly looking for different quinoa recipes (this superfood is extremely understated)...thanks Caron, I'm now able to add another great quinoa recipe to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I thought this was a delicious recipe. I used double the tuna and a little more mayo to moisten. Plus I added some dill weed, which I always use for tuna salad. It was fabulous and tasted just as good, if not better, after a couple of days. I used stuffed in a pita with sprouts and diced tomatoes. Yummy and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Wow - I just made this for my husband and I and we loved it. We made the recipe exactly like it's written, except that I forgot the lemon juice. Served over a bed of greens. It seems like such an odd combination with the wasabi powder, but we both loved it. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was a delightful flavorful healthy side dish or next day on crackers or toast. My husband liked it as well. I tasted before putting in the tuna and it was just as good, maybe better. I doubled everything except the tuna for a bigger dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I used wasabi paste and thought it was great. I didn't have celery on hand, so I used some cucumber and zucchini and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe tasted very good for my husband and myself. Thank you for making it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States