Caron's Kickin' Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
LOVE this one..The only thing I didn't care for was the tomato. It made the tuna a little intense..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I'm not sure how to really rate this recipe. Based on the reviews, I should have really loved this one but to my disappointment, it wasn't that good. My dish turned out with a very bitter taste and that was BEFORE I added the quinoa. Now, I know from cooking quinoa before that you have to rinse it well before you cook it so it doesn't taste bitter (this recipe should have stated that) and I did rinse my quinoa but my dish was bitter before I even put the quinoa in! By the way, the quinoa itself was fine, it wasn't bitter. I decided maybe I should add more wasabi powder as some of the reviewers suggested but before I did, I tasted the wasabi to see how much of a kick it had and UGH! It was horribly bitter! It was a brand new container and I had just bought it an hour before at the market. I Googled wasabi powder and discovered that it can go bad and when it does, tastes bitter. SO, I went back to the market and bought a tube of wasabi paste and added it to my recipe hoping that if I added enough it would disguise the bitterness. I'm not sure how well it will work. I will let the dish set overnight and see. Seems to me this recipe should taste good based on its ingredients but just be sure you RINSE YOUR QUINOA BEFORE COOKING, AND HAVE FRESH WASABI POWDER! I think the recipe should be clearer on these two things because it can ruin the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was pretty good. I've been trying to incorporate more whole grains (although quinoa is a seed, it still counts) into my diet and this really helped. Although my wasabi powder is brand new, I couldn't really taste it so I had to add more. I also added a chopped dill pickle and some Worcestershire sauce. I took this to work to eat at my midnight break instead of going to the employee dining room and being tempted by all the (free) desserts. I really enjoyed it. Thanks, Caron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
REALLY liked this! That said, here's what I did: First and foremost, RINSE the quinoa so it isn't bitter. Second, please DO add some ginger to taste, as some reviewers said--it makes this even more fantastic. I used about 1 tsp. of ready-made wasabi paste from a tube. The photo here shows this salad in a tomato shell, but I didn't want to do that so I diced nice vine-ripened tomatoes for a base that I spooned this salad over. I used a small jar of my mom's home-canned albacore which had more than enough salt in it so if you do use that sort of thing, watch the added salt. Hubby and I both thought it was a little dry so next time, I'll add just a touch more mayo (not low-fat--ick) to it. Thanks, Caron--this rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Cooked the quinoa in vegetable broth instead of water. Used fennel instead of celery, but did sprinkle with celery seed. Also added 1/4 cup green bell pepper. A hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this for lunches next week. Didn't include the wasabi, don't like it. This was amazingly good! Packed up my pita & cherry tomatoes & a bit of lettuce for my lunch. This truly is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
A great way to use ordinary old tuna. Wasabi powder can be reduced to taste and, in my case, had to end up using some horseradish. That is the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love this!! I followed the recipe except added a little more wasabi powder cuz I like it hot. It is super easy, very filling and low fat. The flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
perfect healthy alternative to a pasta salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Tried this tonight and LOVED IT! After reading suggestions I did make the following changes...I sauteed 1/4 cup each of cucumber, squash, zucchini, onions and celery for a couple of minutes in olive oil and added just a dash of dill weed. I didn't use the wasabi powder because I didn't have any on hand but added 1/2 tablespoon of Paula Dean's seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic powder). I also added just a small handful of colby/monterey jack shredded cheese and 1/4 cup diced Roma tomatoes. This is delicious warm or chilled the only suggestion I would offer is to cut back on the lemon juice its a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States