Carolyn's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
We love the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I didn't have cardomom so I substituted nutmeg. I love the flavor & don't mind that they aren't crisp. My kids devour these everytime I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
We normally make a chili seasoned baked fry but my 2-yr old won't eat spicy food. He LOVES these! Instead of brown sugar, I added a little vanilla extract into the olive oil. Also- I didn't have coriander. I added a little cumin and pumpkin pie spice to the recipe. Yum! If you make a little extra, these are also delicious to take from the fridge as a snack. Many times, I find the potatoes don't cook enough from the oven alone (and they're hard to cut up uncooked), so I microwave them until soft, then cut up. I put in oven on 400 until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
sweet potatoes have a different consistency than regular yukon or baking potatoes so they will not come out as crispy but I still think these are delicious. My three year old will not eat sweet potatoes in any other form so I make these for her. I just use some olive oil, salt and pepper- cook them for 10 mins and then flip em around and cook them 10 more. They aren't as 'crispy' but it's ok. It doesn't mean they're bad- just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Thumbs up! I omitted the cardamom & corriander, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and used Splenda brown sugar. After the 30 min cooking time the recipe recommended, they weren't done, so I increased the temp to 400 for about 15 min. The brown sugar & spices carmelized and were beyond yummy! *** Update 12-04-10 -- I made these again tonight & instead of using the olive oil, I used Pam Olive Oil Cooking Spray. They were still delicious & lower in fat & calories. They also were a little crisper than when I made them before. Best yet! ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Love these. The first day after serving these, I got a text midday from my hubby thanking me for dinner the night before. (It wasn't my regular BBQ chicken or steamed broccoli that was on his mind.) They are not crisp fries but about the same as any other oven baked fries. I made a few changes. I left out the sugar since I served them with a vanilla maple icing drizzle. I left the peels on and that seemed to make many of the fries more firm. I skipped the cold water and put all the ingredients in a plastic bag to coat and then sit for about 30 minutes prior to baking. That gave a nice uniform coating of spice and oil. I set my oven to 400 degrees F and baked for 40 minutes, turning them at 20 minutes. Finally, I put them under the broiler for a bit. Watch that step carefully. They go from perfect to burnt in a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
great!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Yummy, yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amesco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
wow, these are great......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I DO NOT like sweet potatoes but decided to grow them anyway and had to find something to do with them and came across this recipe. It so rocked!!!! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States