Carolyn's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were tasty but I do have to agree with Robograndma (a cook I trust very much) and say as the recipe states these fries are very soggy. I ended up letting them cook until tender then turned up the oven to 400 and still wasnt getting anywhere. I ended up having to broil them on high stir and keep a close eye on them to get them to crisp up. They have a very good flavor the cooking method is just a bit off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
We normally make a chili seasoned baked fry but my 2-yr old won't eat spicy food. He LOVES these! Instead of brown sugar, I added a little vanilla extract into the olive oil. Also- I didn't have coriander. I added a little cumin and pumpkin pie spice to the recipe. Yum! If you make a little extra, these are also delicious to take from the fridge as a snack. Many times, I find the potatoes don't cook enough from the oven alone (and they're hard to cut up uncooked), so I microwave them until soft, then cut up. I put in oven on 400 until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Thumbs up! I omitted the cardamom & corriander, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and used Splenda brown sugar. After the 30 min cooking time the recipe recommended, they weren't done, so I increased the temp to 400 for about 15 min. The brown sugar & spices carmelized and were beyond yummy! *** Update 12-04-10 -- I made these again tonight & instead of using the olive oil, I used Pam Olive Oil Cooking Spray. They were still delicious & lower in fat & calories. They also were a little crisper than when I made them before. Best yet! ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Maybe I did somthing wrong,but my fries did not come out chrisp. I thought they were going to be chrisp like fries. The family loved them just the same and I did also. I did leave out the brown suger MIL is a diabetic I was worried about the sugers in the sweet potatoes without adding more to it. As I said the family loved these twin 21 yr old sons that never agree both said it's a do-again maybe even for holiday dinner. So I gave this 4 stars but not the 5 because I just can't get past the no chrisp factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Love these. The first day after serving these, I got a text midday from my hubby thanking me for dinner the night before. (It wasn't my regular BBQ chicken or steamed broccoli that was on his mind.) They are not crisp fries but about the same as any other oven baked fries. I made a few changes. I left out the sugar since I served them with a vanilla maple icing drizzle. I left the peels on and that seemed to make many of the fries more firm. I skipped the cold water and put all the ingredients in a plastic bag to coat and then sit for about 30 minutes prior to baking. That gave a nice uniform coating of spice and oil. I set my oven to 400 degrees F and baked for 40 minutes, turning them at 20 minutes. Finally, I put them under the broiler for a bit. Watch that step carefully. They go from perfect to burnt in a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made these according to Suz's version but instead of rolling them in oil, I sprayed olive oil Pam on the bottom and then laid on the cut fries, then I sprayed with Pam again, sprinkled on the spices and vanilla instead of sugar. Baking them for about 25 minutes at 400 made them semi crispy. Easy and good for you, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Foley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I didn't have cardomom so I substituted nutmeg. I love the flavor & don't mind that they aren't crisp. My kids devour these everytime I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Good spice suggestions Carolyn! To the folks looking for crispier fries you can soak the cut sweet potatoes in a salt water bath then pat dry. This will draw out much of the water. Also pre heat the baking sheet. With that being said, I prefer plumper softer sweet potato fries. Good job Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These were delicious! I didn't have cardamon, but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Boyfriend LOVED them, I also thought they needed to be crispier. I did broil them at the end and that helped a little bit. Be careful not to let them burn though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States