Carolyn's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
The flavors were good but the consistency was too soft. I was expecting more of a french-fry consistency, and instead, it was mushy. Perhaps too much oil or not high enough oven temps. It took me almost 50 minutes at 350º and they still never got crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This has become my go to Sweet Potato recipe. I usually skip the Cardamom and the Coriander, and use Nutmeg instead like another review recommended. Those just aren't spices I have. In any case, it comes out great. I bake for longer, or I microwave for a minute before to get it cooked enough. Kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Very good! The idea for fries was very last minute so I just used salt, ground cinnamon, & brown sugar after tossing them in olive oil. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I like crispi so I turned up the oven to 400 degrees, IF you do this though don't cut them too thin (go wedge style) and add 5-10 mins. I also love sweeet, so I mixed 2 tsp of orange flavored olive oil with 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 packs of splenda, then thinly coated the pan with the orange flavored olive oil, layed them out sprinkling the sweeter blend and when they came out I sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon. My family loved these, if you want to increase the flavor and smell adding a few drops of pomegranate balsamic vinegar sends your palets to gourmet heaven. These dont last in my house longer than a day, the smell is so powerful I cant even attempt to hide them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez (Marifer)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great flavor but soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
very good. baked at 450 degrees F for 12 minutes and were softer than I'd like-- so put on the broiler-- helped, but still a little softer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Good spice suggestions Carolyn! To the folks looking for crispier fries you can soak the cut sweet potatoes in a salt water bath then pat dry. This will draw out much of the water. Also pre heat the baking sheet. With that being said, I prefer plumper softer sweet potato fries. Good job Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Anyone who likes sweet potatoes will LOVE this!!!! Brilliant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I'm excited that sweet potatoes are so popular now, this recipe is a perfect way to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Would use less oil next time but had great flavor. Totally would have again! Even the kids loved them & they hate sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States