Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe! I added a glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar and 1 1/2 Tablespoons orange juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Can be adapted for the bread machine by cutting all ingredient measures in half, reducing butter to 5, and reducing yeast to a little over one tablespoon. Dough is very sticky and needs additional flour when turned out after dough cycle. Worth every amount of work. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
These turned out great! A nice change from the usual cinnamon rolls. I also made icing and drizzled over top. I made the dough in the bread machine - I have a small machine and so cut the recipe in thirds, but still needed 6 tbsp butter and 1/2 cup sugar to fully cover the rolled out dough. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
An extremely soft dough making it hard to handle, but worth it as the rolls are delicious. I drizzled a little powdered sugar and orange glaze over them, took them to a family Easter brunch and they were gone in fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These are very good. I did change the process the ingredients stayed pretty much the same. I did have to add 4 cups of flour for the dough to come together which is a lot! And I also doubled the zest called for. After mixing the flour with the yeast mixture I kneaded the dough for 8 minutes until it was smooth. Then I let the dough rise outside of the fridge covered with a towel for 1 1/2 hours. Deflate the dough, separate into 2 equal portions, roll out spread butter mixture on the dough, roll up and cut. Then I placed them in the fridge for the night covered with plastic wrap, in the morning I took the rolls out and set them on the counter for about 30 minutes while the oven preheated. Then baked. I did this because I did not want to get up so early to roll out the dough and let it rest. It worked perfectly the way I did it. I did not get 30 rolls because I cut them much thicker than called for. I got 22 large rolls. For a frosting I creamed together an 8oz cream cheese and 1/2 c butter (both softened) added 1 teaspoon orange extract, 3 tablespoons Orange Juice and 2 c powdered sugar. Then thinned it down with additional oj. The icing was really good on these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
These rolls are so delicious. The delicate orange flavor makes a nice counterpoint to the richness of the buttery dough. Almost like eating cotton candy, they are so tender! I iced them with the Orange Cream Cheese Frosting, from this website, and they are irresistible. I will also use this recipe for cinnamon rolls and dinner rolls. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Yum! I made these when I made Cinn rolls. Just about the same prep work. Very tasty. I hadn't been able to get the right filling for orange rools before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I thought I couldn't bake. This recipe is so good and even I can do it, (that says a lot)! I top these rolls with orange frosting and even at four dozen, they never last more than one day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Good- A very subtle orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
thank you thank you gaddy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States