Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These have a very nice light Orange flavor that I didn't find too sweet at all. The dough is quite hard to work with and while they are wonderful fresh out of the oven we didn't like them very well the next day. If I were to make again I would definitely make less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
These rolls are so delicious. The delicate orange flavor makes a nice counterpoint to the richness of the buttery dough. Almost like eating cotton candy, they are so tender! I iced them with the Orange Cream Cheese Frosting, from this website, and they are irresistible. I will also use this recipe for cinnamon rolls and dinner rolls. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe. NIce change from cinnamon rolls. I love the fact that it's a refrigerator dough--and a good one at that! This got rave reviews at last year's Thanksgiving Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Waaay too sweet for my boyfriend and even for me, which says something. Will definitely make again, but will reduce sugar and maybe try cinnamon instead of orange. I topped these with "glory icing" (confectioner's sugar, melted butter and milk) which was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I scaled this to 24 servings. I think most yeast dough recipes don't get the flour proportions correct when you scale them smaller, and I had to add a good bit more flour to get a dough that held together (but was still very soft). I thought it might be hard to work with, but the butter keeps it from sticking to everything. After rising, I rolled it out, spread the filling on it and formed a log and sliced with dental floss. I ended up with 12 rolls. I let the formed rolls rise in the refrigerator overnight, in the morning took them out 30 minutes before baking and baked them. I used a cream cheese icing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
These turned out great! A nice change from the usual cinnamon rolls. I also made icing and drizzled over top. I made the dough in the bread machine - I have a small machine and so cut the recipe in thirds, but still needed 6 tbsp butter and 1/2 cup sugar to fully cover the rolled out dough. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I thought I couldn't bake. This recipe is so good and even I can do it, (that says a lot)! I top these rolls with orange frosting and even at four dozen, they never last more than one day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe! I added a glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar and 1 1/2 Tablespoons orange juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Good- A very subtle orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
thank you thank you gaddy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States