Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wonderful! I made a cream cheese frosting with orange zest to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These are very good. I did change the process the ingredients stayed pretty much the same. I did have to add 4 cups of flour for the dough to come together which is a lot! And I also doubled the zest called for. After mixing the flour with the yeast mixture I kneaded the dough for 8 minutes until it was smooth. Then I let the dough rise outside of the fridge covered with a towel for 1 1/2 hours. Deflate the dough, separate into 2 equal portions, roll out spread butter mixture on the dough, roll up and cut. Then I placed them in the fridge for the night covered with plastic wrap, in the morning I took the rolls out and set them on the counter for about 30 minutes while the oven preheated. Then baked. I did this because I did not want to get up so early to roll out the dough and let it rest. It worked perfectly the way I did it. I did not get 30 rolls because I cut them much thicker than called for. I got 22 large rolls. For a frosting I creamed together an 8oz cream cheese and 1/2 c butter (both softened) added 1 teaspoon orange extract, 3 tablespoons Orange Juice and 2 c powdered sugar. Then thinned it down with additional oj. The icing was really good on these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I tried several methods and the original recipe is the best method. I ended up baking them in round cakes pans instead of muffin pans and found them to be much better that way. I wanted to be able to serve them at a party for 36 women hot out of the oven so the method I finally came up with was to bake them off and then freeze them. I reheated them for about 25 minutes at 325 and then iced them with a basic powered sugar icing,(powdered sugar, vanilla & milk). It was alot of work to make that many rolls but it was so worth the effort. The look on the faces when they took that first bite was like they had just arrived in heaven!! I am still hearing from the women about them. Freezing them is a wonderful way to be able to have them often and they were just as if they had just come fresh out of the oven. Make them for your family and freinds and just watch the reaction!!! A cooks dream!!! Note: I always have to add quite a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
BEST ORANGE ROLL EVER!!!!! I added some Betty Crocker cream cheese frosting & gave it to friends for Christmas. No need to tell them how much butter is really in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
very light and tasty roll, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out good however next time I make these I will use orange marmalade instead of orange zest. Other than that this is a great roll that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Pretty good. My husband has been wanting Orange Rolls for a while now so I decided to get them a try for Father's Day. He liked them, but he likes Orange Rolls sweeter and with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This needed more flour, DON'T let the dough just be sticky, add more flour. If you don't add more flour then the dough is extremely difficult to work with because it's too soft. The orange is a nice change from cinnamon. I made an orange glaze with orange juice and powdered sugar to go over the top. I prefered this cold rather than warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Holy Heavenly Goodness. Light as air, delicate little buns of orangey sweet yeasty rolls...what's not to like? I did not find the dough to be difficult at all, it was cold enough that it rolled beautifully. Edit* I made these a second time on a very humid day and my dough required a significant amount of extra flour. As with any yeast bread, the amount of flour can be greatly affected by the amount of humidity in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This one is a keeper. My husband and I loved this recipe. The rolls were nice and very light. Since it is just the two of us I had to scale it down to 12 instead of 48 and found that I had to add about a cup of extra flour because the dough looked more like batter with only 1 1/2 cups flour. Light organge icing was great on them. This will definitely become a Sunday morning treat for many years to come. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These rolls are excellent! I had to add about 1 cup of flour, but I kept everything else the same. I topped them with cream cheese icing flavored with OJ and some orange zest. The orange rolls actually were gone before the cinnamon rolls at a church brunch. Rave reviews by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States