Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These were a hit at our Mother's Day brunch. Very light and fluffy with a wonderful orange flavor. I did find the dough to be sticky and added about another 1/2 cup of flour, but by the next morning I had no trouble rolling it out. I made the filling the night before and also a batch of the orange cream cheese frosting from this website and let those meld in the refrigerator overnight. I microwaved the filling briefly to soften it up to a spreadable consistency. The frosting was spreadable by the time the rolls had finished baking. This is definitely a keeper recipe. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I think the title of these rolls should be Carolyn's Overnight Orange Rolls. When I first decided to make this recipe, I just read through the ingredients and did not notice that you need to chill the dough overnight. I was stuck, so I added an additional cup of flour and did not chill the dough b/c I had no time. They turned out great but very strong yeasty taste. Is it necessary to put 3 tablespoons of yeast in here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves tweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
For the amount of work, these rolls were just so-so. I brought them to work and brought home over half. I have made better rolls from Bisquick mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were very tasty. I think I'd prefer them as a holiday bread option - ala panetone shortcut - than a breakfast roll. Next time I'll try this by skipping the frosting and maybe adding a bit of candied orange peel and/or golden raisins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Wonderful flavour! I found the dough a little soft, and added a bit of extra flour when turning it out. I'll add a bit more to the dough initially the next time. I received many compliments for these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wonderful! I made a cream cheese frosting with orange zest to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These are very good. I did change the process the ingredients stayed pretty much the same. I did have to add 4 cups of flour for the dough to come together which is a lot! And I also doubled the zest called for. After mixing the flour with the yeast mixture I kneaded the dough for 8 minutes until it was smooth. Then I let the dough rise outside of the fridge covered with a towel for 1 1/2 hours. Deflate the dough, separate into 2 equal portions, roll out spread butter mixture on the dough, roll up and cut. Then I placed them in the fridge for the night covered with plastic wrap, in the morning I took the rolls out and set them on the counter for about 30 minutes while the oven preheated. Then baked. I did this because I did not want to get up so early to roll out the dough and let it rest. It worked perfectly the way I did it. I did not get 30 rolls because I cut them much thicker than called for. I got 22 large rolls. For a frosting I creamed together an 8oz cream cheese and 1/2 c butter (both softened) added 1 teaspoon orange extract, 3 tablespoons Orange Juice and 2 c powdered sugar. Then thinned it down with additional oj. The icing was really good on these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I tried several methods and the original recipe is the best method. I ended up baking them in round cakes pans instead of muffin pans and found them to be much better that way. I wanted to be able to serve them at a party for 36 women hot out of the oven so the method I finally came up with was to bake them off and then freeze them. I reheated them for about 25 minutes at 325 and then iced them with a basic powered sugar icing,(powdered sugar, vanilla & milk). It was alot of work to make that many rolls but it was so worth the effort. The look on the faces when they took that first bite was like they had just arrived in heaven!! I am still hearing from the women about them. Freezing them is a wonderful way to be able to have them often and they were just as if they had just come fresh out of the oven. Make them for your family and freinds and just watch the reaction!!! A cooks dream!!! Note: I always have to add quite a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
BEST ORANGE ROLL EVER!!!!! I added some Betty Crocker cream cheese frosting & gave it to friends for Christmas. No need to tell them how much butter is really in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
very light and tasty roll, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out good however next time I make these I will use orange marmalade instead of orange zest. Other than that this is a great roll that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States