Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I would have given these 5 stars except I did have to add flour..about 1 1/2 cups, in fact. Otherwise it would have not been a dough. And I didn't do the traditional cinnamon filling but a white chocolate and lemon mixture. I topped them with a lemon juice infused cream cheese frosting and they were to die for. Yummy. I will definately use this recipe (modified)again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This one is hard to rate. It turned out fantastic, but there are some real issues with the recipe that I think merit a loss of a star. Mainly, I divided this recipe in half and STILL had to add 1.5 cups of flour to get a workable dough. But once I'd done that, the dough was so beautiful, easy to roll, and buttery tender in flavor that it was worth the extra flour. The extra flour did throw off the yield though, and because I didn't size up the filling I wound up with not enough filling -- so be forewarned, if you add more flour to make this dough come together, add more filling. In the future I would use brown sugar in the filling, twice as much fresh orange zest, and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I iced mine with an OJ/powdered sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I take care of a woman who has Alzheimer's and she described something along this line. It was a hit with her! When I asked her if it tasted like her Mother's recipe, with tears in her eyes she said yes! I did not have the time to raise overnight. I raised like bread only to more than double. And followed the rest as written. Be forewarned...the 2nd rising is very quick--less than 30 min! Make sure to cut smaller than you think! They were huge, and delicious! I did make a glaze for over the top. "It had an orange sauce over the top." I used the leftover 2 Tb of butter, the juice from the zested oranges, powdered sugar, and about 1/4 tsp almond extract. (They weren't drenched, but had enough flavor work.) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were VERY good! I didn't end up putting the icing on because everyone loved them right out of the pan! Next time though I will make the rolls thicker because it's what the family is used to as my grandmother's caramel rolls were always 3-4 in high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I absolutely looooved this recipe (so did my fellow staff members). It was a huge success at early breakfast meetings. The first time I made this, I didn't have quite enough orange zest so I used some lemon zest as well and they were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made an AMAZING frosting for the top: Combine 1 C. confectioners' sugar, 1.5 tablespoons melted butter,1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, and 1.5 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice into a thick frosting. Best rolls EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My bread machine broke and hate working the dough with my hands. This recipe takes some time but if you don't want to kneed its pretty good. I did have to add one cup of flour without it the dough would be way too sticky. Made 24 good size rolls in cupcake pans did one pan orange and the other cinnamon both were good and light, its a preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So good! I love the dough! I made 2 dozen rolls though and baked them in 2 9x13 glass dishes. These were so light and moist and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Halved and made in bread machine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, delicious and light, but I would have preferred more orange flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States