Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This one is hard to rate. It turned out fantastic, but there are some real issues with the recipe that I think merit a loss of a star. Mainly, I divided this recipe in half and STILL had to add 1.5 cups of flour to get a workable dough. But once I'd done that, the dough was so beautiful, easy to roll, and buttery tender in flavor that it was worth the extra flour. The extra flour did throw off the yield though, and because I didn't size up the filling I wound up with not enough filling -- so be forewarned, if you add more flour to make this dough come together, add more filling. In the future I would use brown sugar in the filling, twice as much fresh orange zest, and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I iced mine with an OJ/powdered sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I take care of a woman who has Alzheimer's and she described something along this line. It was a hit with her! When I asked her if it tasted like her Mother's recipe, with tears in her eyes she said yes! I did not have the time to raise overnight. I raised like bread only to more than double. And followed the rest as written. Be forewarned...the 2nd rising is very quick--less than 30 min! Make sure to cut smaller than you think! They were huge, and delicious! I did make a glaze for over the top. "It had an orange sauce over the top." I used the leftover 2 Tb of butter, the juice from the zested oranges, powdered sugar, and about 1/4 tsp almond extract. (They weren't drenched, but had enough flavor work.) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were VERY good! I didn't end up putting the icing on because everyone loved them right out of the pan! Next time though I will make the rolls thicker because it's what the family is used to as my grandmother's caramel rolls were always 3-4 in high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I absolutely looooved this recipe (so did my fellow staff members). It was a huge success at early breakfast meetings. The first time I made this, I didn't have quite enough orange zest so I used some lemon zest as well and they were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made an AMAZING frosting for the top: Combine 1 C. confectioners' sugar, 1.5 tablespoons melted butter,1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, and 1.5 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice into a thick frosting. Best rolls EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My bread machine broke and hate working the dough with my hands. This recipe takes some time but if you don't want to kneed its pretty good. I did have to add one cup of flour without it the dough would be way too sticky. Made 24 good size rolls in cupcake pans did one pan orange and the other cinnamon both were good and light, its a preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So good! I love the dough! I made 2 dozen rolls though and baked them in 2 9x13 glass dishes. These were so light and moist and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Halved and made in bread machine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, delicious and light, but I would have preferred more orange flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a keeper recipe..I agree it should say OVERNIGHT rolls..I too said "SHOOT..I did not want these ready tomorrow!!" so I used more flour..and made 1/2 the batch this am...and the other 1/2 will be tested tomorrow to see if there is any difference in taste or texture...made them small by rolling out much larger and then rolling tightly..LOTS of flavor! baked in round cake pan...LOOKED beautiful when plated and frosted...everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States