Carolyn's Oh-So-Easy Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Very yummy and satisfying to a sweet lover. However, I made these changes to the recipe, only because I had this on hand: I used a 1/2 of 16 oz bag of frozen, mixed berries (raspberries; blueberries; blackberries; strawberries,cut up)and sprinkled 1/4 cup sugar on the fruit before thawing in the microwave. This produced a syrup with the fruit. I combined a 1/4 cup of sugar with 1/2 cup water to pour over the fruit. When I added the fruit to the batter, I poured the juice it made with it, also. Next time, I'm going to double the fruit and use Splenda and light Bisquick mix for the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILoveBaking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
An excellent recipe for what it is - a quick, easy and pretty darned tasty, comfort food dessert mixed up and poured into the pan in literally just a couple of minutes. Had I not made this myself I would have never known this cake/cobbler started with packaged baking mix. As I assembled this I had my doubts that this could EVER work - it's a layer of batter, followed by a layer of cherries and finished by pouring a lot of juice over it all. It looked strange. How it came to look like it did after it baked is beyond me, but it worked and it was good, warm or cold and particularly good topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by blue-eyes
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Easy and very good. It only took me 5 minutes to make, which is a huge plus in my book. I followed the recipe exactly and don't think it really needs any improvement upon. Will also go well with a cup of coffee for breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was SO simple and so, so good. All my Momma kept saying was how much it tasted like the cobbler her Mom made for her as a child. I would recommend Bisquick instead of Pioneer buttermilk baking mix though. The Pioneer doesn't seem to rise as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Very easy to make. I made my own pancake batter (without the wet ingredients), used the cherries I canned from last year, and had to add a bit more milk than the recipe called for (maybe 2/3 c). I also added a few drops of almond extract, because cherries should always accompany almonds. ;) It is in the oven, so we will see how we like it later! edit: This was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
this is so delicious and easy to make. i didnt have the cherries so i used frozen mixed berries with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was a really good, easy cherry dessert. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan, because of that it took about 15 more minutes to bake. I also sprinkled a little sugar on top before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great recipe! I substitued real buttermilk for the milk and used fat free Bisquik. I also added a bit of anise extract - which I feel is a requirement in any cherry dessert! I have to admit - I was a little nervous after pouring all that cherry juice on top of the batter - looked more like I was making a jello mold!.....BUT - it really did all absorb and turned out fantastic!! I'm going to try this recipe with the same brand of canned blueberries next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Easy to make and tasted good too. My boyfriend doesn't care for cherries and he even liked this. I had to cook mine a little longer to get the top to lightly brown. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Easy to make and followed the advice of one poster to use almond extract and Bisquick. Turned out awesome, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokyokitty1207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States