Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This recipe is great! I accidentally put extra green chiles in there, but it turned out great! I would also suggest layering a very small layer of the mixture on the bottom first to help moisten the first layer of tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
A friend gave me a modified version of this recipe using a dozen corn tortillas (in place of the flour tortillas) and using 2 cups of Cheddar Cheese (instead of the 3 cup Jack Cheese combo). If you cook the chicken in and aluminum pouch in the oven (450 degrees for 30 minutes) you can use the juice from the chicken itself instead of using the chicken broth and boullion cube. This was a delicious recipe that I recently took to a Potluck of Anthropology Professors (one raised in Milan and one raised in Central America). Adults and kids alike loved it (especially the afore mentioned Professors) and it lasted only 20 minutes on the buffet table. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
I made this recipe for a staff luncheon today and everyone loved it. It turned out just a little soupy, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE2SHU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
MY FAMILY LOVED THE RECIPE. EVEN MY FINICKY SON.I DID TAKE ONE REVIEWERS ADVICE AND CUT BACK ON THE ONIONS AND USE CORN TORTILLAS. IALSO SHOULD HAVE COOKED IT A LITTLE LONGER BEING THAT IT WAS A LITTLE JUICEY. THE RECIPE WAS JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
My mom made a version of this and it was one of her "stand-bys". I think this is just as good and will absolutely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This turned out great. I made a few modifications: NO BEANS! I have lived in Texas for 27 years and no one has ever served me KRC with beans in it. We serve the beans on the side! Also, I used a mix of corn and flour tortillas. This is a terrific recipe for it, not too much of anything - a perfect blend. This casserole was derived from the famous King Ranch, in Kingsville, Tx. AAA+++ for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Loved this one and so did my family and friends! Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. And suprisingly easy. My husband never eats white meat or bell peppers and he ate this, seconds at that. We will me be making this a lot more. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Yum!! Entire family enjoyed this one! Living in Texas makes it really hard to find a tex-mex meal that everyone enjoys. But, with this recipe you can't go wrong! (only caution would be for the youngsters - my 6 year old thought it was too spicy......but loved all the cheese!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This recipe is a lot like a chicken enchilada recipe that I usually make, but this recipe is so much easier and quicker. 5 stars from my husband and 4 stars from me. I used a 10 oz can of rotel tomatoes instead of the 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and it was perfect, not too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States