Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this recipe and my family loved it. But I did make a couple of alterations , instead of the 12 flour tortillas I used 6 and then added crisp tortilla chips aabout half a bag. this made it less soggy, I omitted the chicken bouillon. I used cheddar cheese instead of the colby-monterey. It is a very easy and quick to fix recipe, just wonderful. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipes was just okay, I would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I'm wondering if there is an error in the recipe! The ingredients call for flour tortillas, but the instructions refer to corn tortillas. I made it with flour tortillas and agree with another reviewer that the tortillas were soggy and not good. The photo shows something more substantial on the bottom layer, but I can assure you, that was not the case with my efforts! The ingredients would be correct for standard Kings Ranch casserole....IF it had corn tortillas. I see others have been happy with the results, so maybe they did something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
NEVER use flour tortillas in King Ranch Casserole! They make the casserole gummy. Only corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My husband really enjoyed it. However, he wants me to use crispy tortilla chips next time. He requested I keep the recipe and try it again. I think I just need to tweak it to our taste buds, so, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Excellent - Left out the beans, and added a can of corn (drained) instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made this for dinner last night and the husband loved it! Great flavors, just enough spice, and very hearty. It will become a staple in our home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have made this recipes many times. I do change a couple of things. I don't like to bite onions, so I use onion powder. I also use roasted red peppers, they add a different flavor. I also add in some garlic, powdered or fresh, depending on what I have. Always comes out great and makes wonderful leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I did make a few changes, and I agree that it did come out a bit soupy. I didn't have a bell pepper on hand so I used celery instead. I sauteed the onion and the celery and added some cumin in butter until soft. Then I added it to the soup mix. I did sub out the mushroom soup for cream of celery and added a 1/2 cup sour cream to the soup mix. I also used 1/2 monterrey jack and half sharp cheddar, and I used salsa wheat tortillas instead of white flour ones. I agree with another review that the flour tortillas make it a bit gummy so I might either use the tortilla chips or corn tortillas next time. I also skipped the first step by buying and dicing a rotisserie chicken. Yummy. I did use both rotel tomatoes and the can of green chilis as well as a 3 tsp. of chili powder because my husband likes things with a kick. He and his dad loved it. They gave it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hagedorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
very good. A bit spicy for people unacoustumed to spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States