Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is a great summer dish. I made some alterations though. I skipped the grapes & onion powder & instead of swiss cheese, I used cheddar. I also mixed in some sliced carrots. My husband liked it so much, he took some to work for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is my absolute favorite chicken salad recipe. The only changes I make are to omit the cheese (to cut down the fat a little) and use red grapes instead of green (I prefer the extra sweetness of the red grapes). I would have never thought to put water chestnuts in chicken salad, but they really add to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This is by far the best tasting Chicken Salad I've ever had!! The flavors and textures are just amazingly delicious. I follow the recipe exactly, with the exception of using red grapes (because I love them more than green) and I omit the water chestnuts, not a fan of them. And to make things easier, I usually just buy a store bought roast chicken. By the way, the addition of the Swiss cheese is ingenious!!! Love the creamy, sharp taste it gives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAFFERTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Sharon and Carol, thank you for sharing this recipe. It is absolutely delicious! I used your recipe for a sandwich mix. I left out the grapes this time (my husband doesn't like fruits in his meals) and also the diced Swiss (used sliced muenster cheese). Had canned white meat chicken in water on hand so used that instead (3-12.5 oz cans, drained). Prepared everything exactly as directed. This mix was moist and tasty! We have lots of leftovers to snack on with crackers, celery sticks, or to make more sandwiches for the week. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Perfect meal to bring for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Heart, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made some changes but used this recipe for the basic recipe. I used less mayonnaise and added some sour cream; I did not use salt at all and did not miss it; used both white and dark meat; did not have water chestnuts so cut finely 1/2 Granny Smith apple; used seedless red grapes, that is what I had. Left out the swiss chunks but next time will add as after eating can see how it would blend nicely. The dressing was just right I think the poultry seasoning was the trick here. Thank you Sharon. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I did modify the recipe but still gave it only a 4 because I felt the flavor of the mayo mixture was very strong. I only added half of the mixture and then straight mayo after that to get the creaminess I wanted. Now it is perfect. I omitted the water chestnuts and the cheese, used half of the recommended grapes and used white onion instead of green. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is excellent! I got a rotisserie chicken from Sam's Club and cut it up and used this recipe! My eight yr couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
perfect dish, I'm always asked for the recipe or asked to make it for a gathering...goes great between a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I know everyone says this is the best chicken salad they have ever taste and they are right.. Who would have guessed that poultry seasoning would make such a difference. I use what I have on hand and have used chedder, cojack and colby cheese and it's always great. Used almonds, sunflower seeds when I am out of water chestnuts. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States