Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have been making this since 2010 and it is by far the best chicken salad I have ever had! When I make this for events, I always print up a few copies of the recipe and they are snatched up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vgannuscio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I use "Garlic Chicken" from this website (Cut up, of course) and omit the garlic powder, onion powder, and poultry seasoning in this recipe as the "Garlic Chicken" provides the flavors. I never add grapes or nuts to chicken salad and didnt have water chestnuts....still DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Fantastic salad. Prob. even better with the garlic powder, but my daughter is anti-garlic. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
absolutely fantastic!! took another reviewer's advice and used half miracle whip and half plain yogurt. thank you, Carol, for posting this...wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a really delicious recipe. I followed directions except for the chestnuts which I substituted pecan pieces for and instead of swiss I used horseradish cheddar because it's what I had. I also used canned chunk chicken breast which worked out perfectly. Perfect for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Husband loves this. Followed everything except I skipped the raisins, chestnuts & celery. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The teachers at school raved over this recipe. I ended up using Italian blend cheese, and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Not very good. This should be called "Carol's Swiss Cheese Salad". The cheese overwhelms everything else. In fact, there's such little chicken, you can't even taste it. IMO, any type of cheese has no place in a chicken salad. And shouldn't chicken be the main ingredient in a "chicken" salad? This would be much better by reducing or eliminating the cheese altogether and substituting something that complements the other ingredients such as diced radishes, mild diced onions, more celery, or chopped egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written. It was good, but next time, I will definitely reduce the poultry seasoning by half and probably eliminate the water chestnuts altogether. The poultry seasoning was way too pronounced and the chestnuts didn't add anything. I will probably add more mayonnaise too, as the mixture ended up being pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States