Carol's Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I found the layers of this cake to be quite dry. The frosting was excellent and the cake had a good flavor but still not moist at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
i made this for a friend of mine who loves butter pecan cake, she loved it! i used a different buttercream icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.L. Whitacre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This turned out great. I'm a wedding cake designer and I will use this recipe again and again. If overbaked the cake can be a lil dry otherwise I really recomend the cake. Thankyou for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This cake was great - easy to make, not too sweet and the exact right balance of moisture. I can't comment on the icing because I made it for a class and had to use the Wilton icing, but I'll definitely make the cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
My friend loves butter pecan or praline everything, so I decided to make this for her. It turned out great, especially the batter! Straight out of the oven it smelled like IHOP pecan pancakes, and it had a texture like fluffy banana nut bread. I thought the icing was a nice complement to the cake, and altogether it's so sweet and rich I can only eat a piece or two a day, instead of marathon cake binges-- which is a good thing. :) Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is one of those cakes that can really be addictive. I probably make it once a month at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This cake and frosting was incredible! The flavor was great. I should have used a little oil in the batter to make it a little more moist, and I needed to crumble the pecans more. But everyone was going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this cake and it was absolutely fantastic. The cake has the flavor of my favorite ice cream, Buttered pecan. I got rave reviews from my family when I made this cake for my mom's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
This is a wonderful cake. I made it for my dad's birthday and everyone loved it. I frosted it with a caramel frosting (butter, brown sugar, conf. sugar)- the one listed didn't look very interesting to me. It was a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States