Carol's Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this in a bundt pan it came out beautiful. I entered this in my county fair and it won 1st place! I now have to make another because I didn't even get to taste the first one I made. When I made it for the fair, that was the first time I had made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My family LOVED this cake, even though I over baked it. It was a tad dry but that was my fault. Even so, I was asked for the recipe by 2 people. Next time I will not overbake it it. I added a splash of vanilla extract to the frosting, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
It was buttery..pecanny (haha!) and my family loved it. I didn't have a lot of time to make frosting..Ijust added a couple of cups of Cool Whip to a canof vanilla frosting. The cake wasn't too sweet. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We had this for Thanksgiving, it was HEAVENLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Sorry but this was one of the worst cakes I've ever made...super dry and reminiscent of pancakes. I made no substitutions in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I am only rating the cake, as I used a different icing. I substituted vanilla soymilk for regular milk (since I was out), and added half the amount of vanilla extract. The cake layers were fluffy and light, and perfectly moist. Very nicely sweetened, maybe a little too sweet, and only because I used flavored soymilk. My mom raved, and everyone else loved it. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I Looove this cake. I make it a lot...I am a cake decorator and once someone samples this cake..it becomes their go to cake for anything!! The only changes I suggest..for a lighter, more airy texture is to use self-rising flour and omit the backing powder...or use cake flour...i believe 1 cup AP flour = 1 cup + 1 TB of cake flour. Anyways...great cake!! I looove it with a caramel filling and butter frosting or caramel icing too...yummm~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Wonderful and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
great cake I made it for my boss for her Birthday she loves the boxed butter pecan cake and never had, Had a from scratch one she loved it and so did everyone else at work, I will use this recipe many more times and have added it to my personal recipe book, Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This cake was good, but I used wheat flour and it made it more dense and dry. It wasn't as popular as the pies. I would use regular flour next time and would make sure to buy a sifter to sift the flour first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States