Carol's Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
This is a wonderful cake. I made it for my dad's birthday and everyone loved it. I frosted it with a caramel frosting (butter, brown sugar, conf. sugar)- the one listed didn't look very interesting to me. It was a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This turned out great. I'm a wedding cake designer and I will use this recipe again and again. If overbaked the cake can be a lil dry otherwise I really recomend the cake. Thankyou for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I Looove this cake. I make it a lot...I am a cake decorator and once someone samples this cake..it becomes their go to cake for anything!! The only changes I suggest..for a lighter, more airy texture is to use self-rising flour and omit the backing powder...or use cake flour...i believe 1 cup AP flour = 1 cup + 1 TB of cake flour. Anyways...great cake!! I looove it with a caramel filling and butter frosting or caramel icing too...yummm~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this cake and it was absolutely fantastic. The cake has the flavor of my favorite ice cream, Buttered pecan. I got rave reviews from my family when I made this cake for my mom's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this cake for my parents birthdays, which are a week apart, because they both love butter pecan ice cream. It was a beautiful cake and it got lots of oh's and ah's at the party. Everyone said it was delicious. I, on the other hand, thought it was a little dry even though I only baked it for 20 minutes but the flavor was very good. Also I thought the frosting was way to sweet. I wish I listened to my gut and used my regular butter cream frosting which I think would have paired better with the cake. Next time I will and I'll add buttermilk to the cake to combat the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I am only rating the cake, as I used a different icing. I substituted vanilla soymilk for regular milk (since I was out), and added half the amount of vanilla extract. The cake layers were fluffy and light, and perfectly moist. Very nicely sweetened, maybe a little too sweet, and only because I used flavored soymilk. My mom raved, and everyone else loved it. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is one of those cakes that can really be addictive. I probably make it once a month at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This cake was splendid! With a few exceptions. I would suggest adding twice the butter because the cake came out a bit dry. I didn't make the traditional frosting but made one of my own (brown sugar, confectioners sugar, heavy cream, butter, and the remainder of the buttered pecans) It turned out magnificently, a rather sweet glaze. But it works much better when made as a bundt cake. Overall, the smell and taste of the buttered pecans was heavenly! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I dont eat butter pecan cake but my husband requested it for his birthday.. He loved it.. Will def be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Lovely cake! I reduced the recipe to "ten servings" (to make it just two layers instead of three). Also, I used half walnuts and that was just fine. It was elegant yet simple and impressed my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kparker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States