Carol's Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this cake on request and it turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this in a bundt pan it came out beautiful. I entered this in my county fair and it won 1st place! I now have to make another because I didn't even get to taste the first one I made. When I made it for the fair, that was the first time I had made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My family LOVED this cake, even though I over baked it. It was a tad dry but that was my fault. Even so, I was asked for the recipe by 2 people. Next time I will not overbake it it. I added a splash of vanilla extract to the frosting, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
It was buttery..pecanny (haha!) and my family loved it. I didn't have a lot of time to make frosting..Ijust added a couple of cups of Cool Whip to a canof vanilla frosting. The cake wasn't too sweet. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We had this for Thanksgiving, it was HEAVENLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Sorry but this was one of the worst cakes I've ever made...super dry and reminiscent of pancakes. I made no substitutions in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I am only rating the cake, as I used a different icing. I substituted vanilla soymilk for regular milk (since I was out), and added half the amount of vanilla extract. The cake layers were fluffy and light, and perfectly moist. Very nicely sweetened, maybe a little too sweet, and only because I used flavored soymilk. My mom raved, and everyone else loved it. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I Looove this cake. I make it a lot...I am a cake decorator and once someone samples this cake..it becomes their go to cake for anything!! The only changes I suggest..for a lighter, more airy texture is to use self-rising flour and omit the backing powder...or use cake flour...i believe 1 cup AP flour = 1 cup + 1 TB of cake flour. Anyways...great cake!! I looove it with a caramel filling and butter frosting or caramel icing too...yummm~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Wonderful and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
great cake I made it for my boss for her Birthday she loves the boxed butter pecan cake and never had, Had a from scratch one she loved it and so did everyone else at work, I will use this recipe many more times and have added it to my personal recipe book, Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States